We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and reasonable prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B.B.Q City

B.B.Q City
Ranked #1,238 of 5,815 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I didn't try the BBQ which seems a little expensive.

The kitchen-made dishes are quite good; I would especially recommend the Kimchi Pancake as a starter to share with a few friends.

Overall this place is very good and reasonably priced for the part of town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doras_Eile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
335 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were invited by a Korean friend (former colleague) for dinner at this restaurant. When I get the chance I enjoy korean food and having a local order the food and drink ensured that we had a great night. Will definitely return on my next trip to Sydney

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food and Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I went there with my boyfriend because Madang Restaurant closed today. We 15 minutes for first meal to be served. I almost finished my dish so we asked for my boyfriend's dish which was stir fly. The dish was not hot and it supposed to be served on hot plate but the plate was cold. Manager who lacks of English skill could not assist us at all. He talked to us while his mount full of food. Side dishes were poor comparing to other restaurants. Also it is not the right place for BBQ because air does not flow in this area - our clothes were strong smell when we got in the car. what kind of restaurant is it?? Not recommend at all and if you do not trust us - Try them once.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Watcharee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but a bit expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Well, I guess the restaurant is a bit behind others in terms of food and service. Now there are several korean restaurants around Sydney CBD that offers pretty much the same and charge much less. The food there is good but I always had problem with the staff specially when they are dealing with my korean friends... never understood why. The Soju is far more expensive then other places.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Food was sensational once we figured out what we were doing! Staff didn't speak great English which made it a bit awkward but quality of food sure made up for it. Really nice

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annat048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B.B.Q City also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to B.B.Q City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing