We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“They've done a great makeover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1,249 of 5,393 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Forest Lodge specialises in craft tap beer, single vineyard wine and artisan Australian spirits. We believe in supporting the local economy and have regular events showcasing local liquor. Our pub food is fresh produce with many house made specials including gnocchi, pizza's aranchini' & donuts to name a few. 'The Flodge' as it is affectionately known among local families and Sydney Uni patrons, has a great line- up of weekly events including Sydney's best trivia on Tuesday nights with Matt Madness, Jack Pot Poker on Wednesdays, student discounts on food and drink, raffles, and great music every day. Come in and decide for yourself.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“They've done a great makeover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our local pub, best know for a great coffee shop (rather missed) at the back where University staff went to work and meet. But am increasingly going back there now for great food, fab boutique beer and cider on tap and a really good atmosphere and service.
I am addicted to their $10 chicken parmagiana served with the best coleslaw I've ever had, but the crispy salmon fillet on fish curry and pork neck with tempura zucchini chips are all better than just good.
Great value for money and just a nice place to make the working day feel a whole lot better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JannLeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Finally Glebe (Forest Lodge) has a decent pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This pub was revamped last year from a dingy, seedy space to a cool and casual local pub. The renovation didn't go overboard; this is not one of those blonde wood and no personality pubs. There's still a hint of grunge but the greatness now lies in the service and the menu. The staff are friendly and helpful (the last time we dined here they had run out of a wine I wanted so the bar manager let me sample a similar wine for free to see if it was to my taste). The food is great! We've tried the Sunday pork roast (mmmm crackling), the amazing spaghetti marinara, fish and chips, steaks and the pizzas. They have special pizza nights where all the varieties are $10 - go for the pimped up prawn, a yummy mix of prawns, rocket, lemon and green salsa. Mains are in the $14-$20 zone and the kids' options are about $10. We've never made it to a dessert though because the mains are so large! It's a great space to dine with kids and they even have a ping pong table, a pool table and a box of toys to keep them amused. That said, try to get a table in the busy front bar rather than the airless and kind of dark back room.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VenturerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Beer and Plenty to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had dinner here with family and friends including two teenage (15 / 17) sons. No tables available in the formal dining area when we arrived, but staff said they would let us know as soon as one was available and they did. In the meantime, we ordered drinks and were seated in an adjacent room for about 15 minutes.

Food is ordered at the bar from a blackboard - pizzas are great (taste and value) and there are a range of other dining options, but limited deserts (if you have room). Beer selection is great and wines were quite good too.

We had a great time and thoroughly recommend - they are also child friendly which is a nice touch for an inner city pub.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food and lovely courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The food here is amazing. Portion sizes are huge and reasonably priced.
I came here with work friends and we got several dishes to share. Our collective favourites were the prawn pizza and spaghetti meatballs. A special mention goes out to their fries purely because of the delicious dipping sauce which is mayo mixed with a little smoked paprika. It's fantastic.
The ambiance is relaxed, with the inside eating area set out like a dining room. The courtyard is nice and sheltered, but you will have to share it with smokers. Overall a great experience and after 3 visits, I have yet to be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank labdiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“It's my local, it's awesome, go for Trivia tuesday nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

It's my local, it's awesome, go for Trivia tuesday nights

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest Lodge Hotel also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing