We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't knock the Knockwurst!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maggie's Potts Point

Maggie's Potts Point
Ranked #998 of 5,450 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City East
Death Valley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't knock the Knockwurst!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I went along to Maggie's reluctantly at the behest of a friend who enjoys all things stodgy when it comes to food. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by all the food on offer. Sure, you can have your heavy meaty dishes but there is also lighter fare on offer. I tried the beef croquettes which came with rosti and salad. Delicious, not heavy and enough to keep you wanting more. Other items that took my fancy were the deep fried camembert and the schnitzel. I'll have to have those next time I return.
Maggie's was apparently founded by the woman who ran Una's so you know what you're getting!
Definitley worth a visit to this hidden little gem near the fountain in Kings Cross.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeathValleyDede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good Wiener schnitzel and cabbage. The rosti was a little soggy and needed more salt but was a big portion and for $19 is great value. The desserts are not the best but they are cheap and good value. We would certainly go again for a cheap, fun night out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aneil4227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An oldie but a goodie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Though not nearly up to the standards of the now long gone, and much missed, Stutgarter Hoff of Darlinghurst fame, but still a good eatery, that is if you don't need to pay by credit card. Don't expect the authentic food of Germany with the corresponding regional delights; you will nevertheless get a good and hearty 'sought of German' meal served in a 'sought of German' way. Have the pork knuckle when available if your hungry. Forger about the desserts. The European beers are not bad value and go splendidly with the food on offer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good winter meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Maggies is an institution in Potts Point. Reasonably priced wholesome food. I've been here several times the food is good not fantastic. A very easy night out.
They Only take cash. In this age of credit cards I find this amazing for a restaurant.
If you want a basic meal Maggie's is for you. If you want more interesting food maybe not.

Helpful?
1 Thank MeeshellB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We decided to go Maggie's after Una's on Darlighurst was packed in, I have eaten at both in the past and both places are pretty much the same except Maggie's Venue is larger.
Great place if your hungry, large meals in a traditional Europe style.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SHANMAN82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Potts Point also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Maggie's Potts Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing