We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's so dirty even the rats won't stay there, absolute dump of a place”
Review of Home Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Home Backpackers
Ranked #38 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Where to begin, my friend and I both arrived separately and both were welcomed by an unhelpful, rude and disinterested blonde English receptionist who wouldn't even show us locations on a map and preferred to brush us aside to the brochures stand. Then we were told, not shown, our room which was dirty beyond recognition, smelled of one weeks body odour and worst of all the sheets from the previous nights occupant were still on my bed. After asking to be shown a free bed, Which again was told to us at reception as no one seemed bothered to come look at the room, we decided that it would be a crime against humanity to stay and we asked to be moved. The owner did let us upgrade without cost which was nice. Overall, a very poor effort of a hostel which is badly run with only the depressed cleaners being the only visible people who work there. Finally we asked for our bags to stored for the day because we were getting an overnight bus...of course there was no storage room even though the station is a five min walk. Worst hostel I've seen worldwide. The one good thing is there was no bed bugs, because even they won't live in that hell hole.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flagsoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Home Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 232 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

I checked in to the hostel Jan 2nd 2012, when I went to the receptionist, it was an English girl, she was so rude, didn't even smile to say hello, It was a terrible welcome to Australia. My room stunk so bad and it was so dark, even in daylight. The hostels is packed with only English people and they are so rude and snubby. all the staff members are rude English backpackers. I don't even think the owner is in Australia, no professional educated staff works here. the staffs here are just crazy rude English backpackers that just wanna get drunk all night and then go back to work in the morning with a hangover. the kitchen is never cleaned, beds have no protector, the rooms are congested and smelly. peoples things get stolen all the time, the bathrooms are filthy and dirty, not enough staff to clean them, all the staff just drink goon every night and act immature. so many bedbugs you see them crawling on you. no internet, no free breakfast and rude service. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This was our first stay in backpacker accomodation, so by default it was the best backpacker hostel we've ever stayed in. Sadly that's where the positive comments end. From the moment we stepped into our room we began to regret it. The room was dirty, dreary and dispiriting. It smelt like a rugby team had spent a week sweating and farting in there and a single wall mounted fan buzzed pathetically in a futile attempt to cool the clammy, stale air. Throughout the night, thuds of people on the stairs and the thought of being eaten alive by bedbugs kept us awake, so the savings we made on cheap accomdation were definately outweighed by the costs. Never again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Thanks to this dirty and disgusting place, I now have bed bugs in my home. Turns out my not so expensive accommodation was expensive as I had to pay for an exterminator. I couldnt be more angry and upset. So a big thanks to home backpackers for costing me my money and sanity.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danni888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The place was dirty, old and loud. I only stayed because it was the only place i could find for a couple days that would let me stay during the busy restricted xmas season. I knew from reading on here that it wouldn't be luxury and got just that. It was sufficient though and the location was still good. I wouldn't avoid it at all costs but lower your expectations from other hostels when you have to go there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

No fan as mentionned on the website, but extra guests in the room : cockroaches and bed bugs!
Needless to say the place was dirty!!!
And they expect YOU to get dirty: 2 showers for girls (with see-through glass!), 2 for guys (no lights in these) and 1 shared...
Only good thing is it's central

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

me and my boyfriend enjoyed the stay here. when we first arrived to the reception we was worried that it would not be nice inside but it was nice we had our room here. there was bread, jam and sugar and tea, and coffe every morning and left for your use all day. the reception guy there was really helpfull to, we stayed here for about 3 weeks in total.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 143 in Sydney
412 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#31 of 143 in Sydney
695 reviews
790 on George
#52 of 143 in Sydney
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Noah's Bondi
Noah's Bondi
#5 of 16 in Bondi
41 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 143 in Sydney
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Backpackers

Address: 238 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $23 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Central station, HOME Backpackers has everything a Sydney Backpackers should have and heaps more! We offer comfortable budget accommodation right in the heart of Sydney and a jam-packed line up of entertainment each night. Our staff is a mix of travellers and true Sydney-siders who know the best places to party, eat, travel, see and experience. Reception is open 8 till 8, Early and late check in available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing