We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't sleep, bugs will eat me.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Backpackers

Home Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Home Backpackers
Ranked #38 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't sleep, bugs will eat me.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This was our first stay in backpacker accomodation, so by default it was the best backpacker hostel we've ever stayed in. Sadly that's where the positive comments end. From the moment we stepped into our room we began to regret it. The room was dirty, dreary and dispiriting. It smelt like a rugby team had spent a week sweating and farting in there and a single wall mounted fan buzzed pathetically in a futile attempt to cool the clammy, stale air. Throughout the night, thuds of people on the stairs and the thought of being eaten alive by bedbugs kept us awake, so the savings we made on cheap accomdation were definately outweighed by the costs. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    54
    25
    30
    70
See reviews for
7
43
72
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Thanks to this dirty and disgusting place, I now have bed bugs in my home. Turns out my not so expensive accommodation was expensive as I had to pay for an exterminator. I couldnt be more angry and upset. So a big thanks to home backpackers for costing me my money and sanity.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danni888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

The place was dirty, old and loud. I only stayed because it was the only place i could find for a couple days that would let me stay during the busy restricted xmas season. I knew from reading on here that it wouldn't be luxury and got just that. It was sufficient though and the location was still good. I wouldn't avoid it at all costs but lower your expectations from other hostels when you have to go there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

No fan as mentionned on the website, but extra guests in the room : cockroaches and bed bugs!
Needless to say the place was dirty!!!
And they expect YOU to get dirty: 2 showers for girls (with see-through glass!), 2 for guys (no lights in these) and 1 shared...
Only good thing is it's central

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

me and my boyfriend enjoyed the stay here. when we first arrived to the reception we was worried that it would not be nice inside but it was nice we had our room here. there was bread, jam and sugar and tea, and coffe every morning and left for your use all day. the reception guy there was really helpfull to, we stayed here for about 3 weeks in total.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Thank god we only spent one night here, reception seemed nice and tidy so it came as a real big shock when we set foot into site b ( the part of the hostel we were in) the stairs are narrow with red carpet ( well it must have been red at one stage) the dirt running up the carpet looked like it had been gathering for years! Then to the next set of stairs, blue carpet this time same story! Getting nervous now! Top of the stairs was a communal fridge! I think if it was swab tested all manner of ecoli would have been found! Then to our room we paid for private! I think sleepin on the street would have been better! The room was tiny with a dingy air fan as air-con, it didn't work! All that was good was the walls were thick and you couldn't here others in the next room! Toilets the same tiny a sink that you actually could not lean over to brush your teeth! There were 2 showers on our floor, one out of order and the other had an extension lead coming through the door. Safe to say I didn't use the shower! I felt I was probably cleaner not washing that night! Not worth any amount of money! Stay here if you dare! Terrible

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Don't stay here. It's dirty and disorganised. You have to rent the towels! When we booked in, the room was dirty - old pizza in the fridge and rubbish in the bin and dirty floors. The carpet was threadbare. The toilets were messy and the floors dirty. There were paper towels to dry your hands on, but the tiny bin filled up very quickly and the used paper towels were all over the floor. The only person on staff we met, had a very rude attitude. Should be delicensed,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 161Me_ne161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
790 on George
#46 of 137 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 137 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#22 of 137 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Railway Square YHA
#12 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Backpackers

Property: Home Backpackers
Address: 238 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Central station, HOME Backpackers has everything a Sydney Backpackers should have and heaps more! We offer comfortable budget accommodation right in the heart of Sydney and a jam-packed line up of entertainment each night. Our staff is a mix of travellers and true Sydney-siders who know the best places to party, eat, travel, see and experience. Reception is open 8 till 8, Early and late check in available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing