We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, nice service, good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
Ranked #23 of 5,822 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice view, nice service, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch on a sunny day between two appointments during our short stay in the city. Although not having reserved in advance the smiling ladies at the entrance managed to find us a table inside, and a little after even on the terrace.I had WA snapper and prawns with brussels sprouts gnocchi cavolo nero. It was real delicious. On the terrace, even inside you can admire the beautiful view. I recommend that you reserve in advance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Er K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,702
    812
    290
    97
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was invited to the Cafe Sydney for business dinner. The restaurant offers a spectacular view to Circular Quay, Sydney harbor bridge and opera house and it's a place with an outstanding atmosphere. The lighting in the restaurant is perhaps a bit too much dimmed out so you need to mind your steps. I had a 3 course meal and the dishes, while sized moderately, were very delicious. I had a great evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shockingly racist experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had made reservations and showed up about 30 min early, we were told, no problem, they would be able to accommodate us without issue. The staff subsequently marched us all the way through the entire 2/3 empty restaurant to a table at the very back, right next to the kitchen. We asked if we could be moved, and they refused,stating they could not accommodate our request when there were clearly multiple tables visible, subsequently a Caucasian couple came in and were led to a table with a much better view!
Frankly, if they did not want our business (we were four Asian females) they should have just had a sign saying, "we prefer not to serve coloreds here!" This was appalling, I rarely write reviews, but felt I had to just to warn others to be careful and aware if you desire to eat here, you may be faced with clear discrimination if you do not fit their desired client profile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank trvleat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Class under glass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Fantastic location on the top floor of the Customs House overlooking Circular Quay. High end dining with great wine and cocktails. Recommend a table outside, blankets and heaters provided if it's cold. Book well in advance to avoid disappointment

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AsiaPacMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing and truly memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This was a special anniversary meal for us, so had high expectations - they didn't disappoint. We booked probably 8 weeks in advance asking for an inside table with a window seat. On arrival our champagne was waiting at an amazing table, the waiter wished us happy anniversary and maintained excellent service throughout the evening. The food was exceptional and was cooked to perfection. I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing