We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location view and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
Ranked #27 of 5,839 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location view and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had a business dinner here will international colleagues. All were impressed with the location, service and the quality of the food. A 'must' place to eat if you are ever in Sydney.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank davide61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,729
    831
    293
    98
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

A vibrant and engaging restaurant, serving intelligent food in beautiful surroundings. The staff are attentive and well versed. The view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, gorgeous. A simply stunning combination!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParisElle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wonderful first night in Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our concierge at the Intercontinental (5 minutes away) reserved us dinner for our first night in Sydney with the best view in town! The restaurant is not stuffy, but has a "special night out" feel. Our service was very good, the food delicious, and although I had heard it was outrageously expensive, we found the prices pretty average for other restaurants (which is expensive by American standards, but didn't seem out of line for Australian ones). I think it would be best to book a window view of the bridge and harbor - that's what makes this restaurant stand out, not just the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nreyesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really crowded, great view and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The place was packed and the service a little slow at times - took about 40 mins for the orders to be taken. However the view is awesome, the food was first rate, the interior lovely and it was a great experience. So book in and enjoy the view and the food in a central location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seven22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great drinks, good food, poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We ate here during our last night in Sydney in June. We had 8:00 reservations and showed up about 7:15 for drinks. The hostess and bar waitress were very nice and gave great service. We enjoyed several of the drinks created by Cafe Sydney staff and found them superb! The drink concoctions were the highlight of the evening and were some of the best we had throughout our entire trip through Sydney. We were seated about 10 minutes before our reservation which was impressive given how busy the place was.

My wife and I both enjoyed dinner. We started with the deboned quail appetizer and both enjoyed it. I then had the peppered beef tenderloin and she had the free range chicken. Both meats were cooked to the appropriate temperatures. Both tasted good, but not to the exceptional level that I have seen others share on here. The price to value was a little high; ex. bread service is typically included in a high end restaurant such as this, but we had to pay per roll that we wanted.

The service from our waiter "team" was unfortunately the low point of the evening. Once seated we ordered a few more drinks and appetizer and then said we needed a few minutes to look at the menu. The waiter seemed rushed, but then we didn't see him for quite a long time. 15-20 minutes later another staff member stopped by to take our menu order, didn't introduce himself and didn't mention whether our waiter had left. Once we were almost finished with our meal and no one had stopped to check on us, we began looking around to find someone to fill our water. We eventually saw our original waiter and flagged him down. He served us the rest of the evening but it was a very weird, almost awkward transition.

We declined dessert. Honestly, the prices were high and the portions of the courses thus far were small to medium. We opted for a nice gelato along the harbor area of Circular Quay.

Overall, we found that the drinks were exceptional and the food good, but the wait staff were not to standards for a high class place such as this. That said, the view is spectacular and you feel like you are right in the heart of the City!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing