We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location, fabulous food”
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
Ranked #25 of 5,836 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location, fabulous food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked Cafe Sydney as a special place to take visiting relations. We wanted somewhere that would show the best Sydney has to offer, and we were not disappointed. The views across Circular Quay to the Bridge and the harbour are fantastic and the food was gorgeous. Our server, Sarah, was friendly and attentive. It was an expensive meal, but great for a special occasion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,758
    845
    297
    99
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and lovely meal”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting sydney and friends booked a table outside. We had a fantastic view of the Sydney harbour and bridge. Wine menu was varied and a selection of food. Food came out very pretty. Not the largest servings for hungry men. Would eat here again even though the staff were not all that friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kitkat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked a month in advance after reading reviews on trip advisor. I had selected inside dining unaware there would be a heat wave when we visited - it didn't matter. Inside or out the views and ambience are special. The food is superb, good range of cuisines, top wine list. Exceptional service. Not the cheapest but certainly in range with other restaurants around the rocks. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pk1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely views outside, if it's warm enough”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I booked this place as a special occasion on a recent holiday to Australia and wasn't disappointed. Because we come from England and it was December, I asked for an outside table, which with hindsight was maybe a mistake as it was a little chilly and windy that night. But we'd been given a fantastic table, in the middle of the balcony with stunning views over the harbour, bridge and opera house. The service was fairly slow and it was hard to get anyone's attention, but when you did it nicely done, e.g. they brought everyone blankets to keep warm. Food is very good - the portions aren't huge but it's nicely cooked delicate food and you don't need a plate piled high of that. It was very romantic and I would recommend - but be prepared for it to be one of the more expensive meals you have in Sydney. A special occasion venue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fozzie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Overpriced”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Went for Sunday brunch on the recommendation of our concierge at the Marriott Sydney Harbour. Location and views fantastic, but service left much to be desired. My husband had a beer and I don't drink so had water. We split one appetizer between us and we each had fish for entree. Service was poor despite the number of staff milling around. No one took my husband's empty glass away and asked if he wanted another. The water glasses were filled only once, near the end of the meal. In general we felt ignored. The appetizer was plopped quickly onto the table without any word or explanation, same with the entrees. The price on the menu did not include tax and the bill came to $115 Australian doe one beer, one woo and two mains. I would not recommend it. I think for the amount spent it should be better value.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank El H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing