We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cafe Sydney, great for special occasion”
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
Ranked #25 of 5,840 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cafe Sydney, great for special occasion”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We sat inside, view was still fab, service was great and food was yummy, specially enjoyed the prawns and the pineapple upside down pudding,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,753
    841
    296
    99
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leura, Australia
1 review
“Cafe Sydney was Fantastic”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great night! Spectacular view of the Sydney harbour. Sat on the verandah yet it was cosy due to heating and warm blankets supplied for each person. Service was impeccable, all staff were fantastic, food was yummy, children were served first and thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Desert was amazing. Would recommend to all for a special occasion dinner overlooking Circular Quay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMFBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, a little too expensive”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been to Cafe Sydney twice over the past two years and with similar experiences. The decor and view is excellent and is as good as just about any other restaurant in Sydney. The food is good, but not quite up to the standard of similarly priced restaurants in the surrounding area. Service is as should be expected - professional, yet friendly. My only real issue is that the food is about the same as restaurants with better reputations and more interesting food. And you have to pay for your bread rolls!! In summary, if you have a healthy budget and you want to treat some out of town guests to a great view, this is a place to visit. On the other hand, if you want to sample some outstanding food and you are happy to pay for it, there are better places to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great for lunch, dinner - a family favourite”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I first came here 10 years ago for an anniversary, and have probably returned here once every 2 years since for various occasions.
The service and food is consistently good, and the price isn't ridiculous.
At lunchtime the view is stunning, with the sunlight coming through the front, and at night the atmosphere is completely different, and a completely different view to look at!
I have also been here for just drinks where you are seated further back, again a different experience.
Overall I would recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussiePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A birthday surprise to remember!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me to Cafe Sydney as a surprise for my birthday. I didnt have any idea this place even exsisted so you can imagine my surprise when I clocked the view and was told our table was on the terrace. This is totally worth it even in July, they provide blankets and have heaters. The restaurant is lit excellently to provide an fab atmosphere. Service from the minute we stepped off the elevator was brilliant and we were shown to the bar and then table (and that view) in quick time.
The menu was great with enough choice, they had sold out of my first choice but it wasnt too much of problem. I had scallops and ocean trout and my boyfriend had quail and beef tenderloin. We both agreed it was easily the best meal we have had. I cannot fault one thing, it was the most perfect, most memorable surprise from someone who knows me very well as it was all things I love, great food, great wine and unforgetttable views!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing