We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual but Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
5th Floor, Customs House | 31 Alfred Street Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)
0292518683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 5,341 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Australian, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Casual but Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Popped in today without a reservation and wow pretty good, nice view and the food was excellent
2 x entrees, 2 x mains, 1 x dessert, 1 x bottle Pinot Gris = $267.00
All the course hit the 9 mark my Barra was excellent and wife's Duck was out of this world. Service was good and we will be back after ticking a few others off the list, go and enjoy!!

Well done guys!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Springkaaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,420
    683
    250
    77
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We celebrated my sons 21st birthday, together with my husbands 62nd ...yes born on the same day!...at this fabulous venue...we were given first class service without any pretentiousness ...food was 5 star and the atmosphere made for a memorable night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woo28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Food, service, location and views were exceptional. We reserved a table outside and it was definitely worth it, they even have blankets and heaters if you get cold. The view is amazing and was only topped by the knowledgeable staff and gorgeous menu, I could have ordered anything on the menu. I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Views, Great Service, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to Cafe Sydney for our Anniversary Dinner, and we were treated to the very best Sydney has to offer. The service was impeccable from the host desk, to the bar, to our waiter. The menu was quite diverse, and more like an American menu (rather than a degustation foodie menu), and everything we had was really spectacular. The view of the Harbor from atop the old Customs House in Circular Quay is matchless.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CenterFielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

how could you not like this place. views service ambience and everything to match Equisite. views to die for in fact. Opera house glistening ocean and well just heaven

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing