We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best view in Sydney for NYE”
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
Ranked #29 of 5,862 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Probably the best view in Sydney for NYE”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked Cafe Sydney back in Spring for NYE 2012. It was almost as much as our flights from the UK ($1400 for two) but worth it for a very special evening on Dec 31st! The food and wine were excellent but it is the view that makes this place special. We really enjoyed the evening and if we had longer in Sydney we might have come back for dinner! Sit on the terrace for best views though the atmosphere inside was also great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S_tweetnothings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,783
    855
    301
    100
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
243 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant for a special occasion”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked this restaurant for Christmas Eve dinner for our family of 4 and had the perfect table on the balcony overlooking the bridge & opera house. Magical! The oysters were terrific, the dinner was very good and the service was attentive and helpful. While I would definitely recommend it, I still have to admit I liked Fish at the Rocks even better. But for the setting, Cafe Sydney can't be beat!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JMH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic views but disappointing food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Cafe sydney was highly recommended so I booked a table for my husbands birthday on 29 December. We were seated inside but so close to the adjoining table that we felt like we were dining with them.
The crab cake entree was the best dish of the night. The twice cooked duck tasted burnt and the prawn main ordered by my husband was overcooked and tough. We may have enjoyed the experience more if we had dined during the day as the room was so dark we couldn,t see the food so missed the visual aspect of the meal.
A birthday greeting in chocolate accompanied my husbands dessert but I settled for coffee only.
The restaurant was very busy but 2 1/2 hours from being seated to dessert is just too long, we assume this is usual timeframe. We were both disappointed with the experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birdandpuss2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This restaurant gives wonderful views of the beautiful harbour . The terrace section on a beautiful day is magic.
The staff are attentive and the food matches the location.
Would reccomend this restaurant for functions as well as romantic dinners.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travel42008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Sydney dining”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Fabulous position with views of the harbour, great menu selection with good service, food with such flavour. Really a place to go for a special occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing