We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voted the best sausage rolls in Australia!”

Bourke Street Bakery
Ranked #9 of 425 Quick Bites in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Reviewed March 21, 2019

Heard about this place being voted the best sausage roll in Australia, so whilst we were in Sydney, we had to visit. My husband loves a good sausage roll, he's even ok with ordinary ones!
The lamb sausage roll was delicious, very nice, good amount of meat, tasty and great pastry. The pork and fennel one was not to my liking but I don't like fennel so don't necessarily listen to me on this one.
It's a very small place, so even with only a couple of people waiting you are likely to be queuing out the door, but it didn't take long. Everything looked great, I would have loved to have tried more, but there are roadworks right outside the bakery, so it wasn't conducive to sit and enjoy.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lachkeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 457 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2019

Bought one sausage roll (AUD $5.50) for myself. Best sausage roll I’ve had! Filled with lots of meat inside. Went at around 7.05am on one of the weekday. Saw queue already forming; mostly locals buying breakfast. Bakery located in a neighbourhood; area currently have construction works going on; best to use google maps/ ask locals if lost for directions.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mei Ling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

Bourke Street Bakery was recommended to us by a friend who had lived in Sydney. Beef brisket pie was a winner! soft brisket inside a crispy pie. Had it 2 days in a row! It was too hard not to go past he desserts, honestly were real amazing! Ginger Brule Tart was nice but a little burnt for my liking, the flavours however were sensational! Highly recommend the lemon meringue tart, not overly sweet but balance was perfection!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank digregz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

Went there with two granddaughters when visiting Sydney. Fantastic food, we all would have loved more but .... Can't wait to go there again. Not a very big place but worth it.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grandma5and5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

Visited on Saturday at lunchtime.
We had beef pies, pumpkin and feta quiche plus coffees and iced coffee and chocolate.
Pies were like a slowed cooked melt in mouth beef.Quiche had caramelised onion in base that was so tasty.
Everything was absolutely delicious.
Limited seating, queue moves fast.
Definitely recommend

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank SandraH424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourke Street Bakery also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bourke Street Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing