We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At BSB, the biggest problem is choosing.”

Bourke Street Bakery
Ranked #2 of 52 Bakeries in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“At BSB, the biggest problem is choosing.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having heard about Bourke Street Bakery from fellow foodies it was a must on a trip to Sydney.

The much-written about lines were in place when we arrived at about 10.30am on a weekday, so we joined the end of the 20 or so strong line of people buying savouries, really attractive looking bread and baked sweets. Everything looked tempting and the bakery, which has its own cookbook, is visited and loved for all of its wares.

But we were there for the sweet baked treats in the main window, and reaching the front of the line were confronted by the dilemma of choice. My dining partner settled for the chocolate raspberry flan, whilst I chose the amazing sounding ginger brulee tart.

All I can say is that if you do get the chance to eat at Bourke st bakery, as long as you aren't adverse to ginger this tart is a definite must. With a satisfyingly crunchy burnt sugar top, this tart opens to reveal a just-soft-enough rich texture and the most wonderful ginger and spiced custard. subtle hints of cardamom and cinnamon, warm sweet vanilla and the tang of ginger - this is one of the best desserts I've ever had. Just get it.

The chocolate raspberry flan was also great - slightly savoury, great texture, spectacularly good pastry and the sweet tang of raspberry balances beautifully. If it weren't that the ginger brulee tart is so fantastic it would hold up respectably against any chocolate dessert from michelin table to french patissiere. But the ginger brulee tart wins over all.

Give yourself enough time to line up and go for the cake rather than the less-spectacular coffee, but definitely make the trip. Easily reached on foot from Sydney city centre or the Surrey Hills/Paddington area.

Whilst they have outdoor seating this is a bakery not a restaurant - don't expect table service or full menus. Just eat the great baked goods!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_Moriarty_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    129
    21
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast but not for the price and queue”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Have heard rave reviews about this place hence, decided to check it out while i was at Sydney. Overall, I found it to be quite an expensive cafe, where their breads are priced at quite steep prices.

The bakery was super small and it located at the corner just off Bourke Street. Staff were pretty friendly and I must say that their muffins were pretty good! Overall, may wish to consider take-aways if you're near the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm_See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Casual bakery outdoor dining”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We just happened to walk past and recognised this famous institution. Small, corner shop front with tempting windows full of bread and baked treats. The place was humming and smelt delicious.
We were lucky to get a table- a small bench for two and ordered coffee, stuffed pizza, lemon tart and rhubarb tart. Delicious!
Coffee was good but smothered with way too much chocolate which was bitter tasting. Otherwise it was a great stop for a quick bite. Tables are outside and there is no cover so don't go if you don't like the weather.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coralhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Been there, seen it, wasn't thaaaat amazed”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It's a good bakery, with good options for breakfast. Hot chocolate is really good and flavorful. Croissant toast is heavenly. Peach danish was good, bacon quiche as well. Chocolate muffin had so much chocolate chips inside that it was literally the heaviest muffin I ever had. I went to the place in Alexandria, and the only thing that bothers is the "caos" of lines outside the shop, people coming, going and having to share such a small space with people standing, servers, tables, etc. Service manages to be good in so much confusion, though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hands down, the BEST sausage roll ever!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Coming from the UK, we're used to sausage rolls. There's a Gregg's on every corner. But I'm happy to say Gregg's sausage rolls SUCK compared to a Burke St Bakery one!

Pork and fennel, real pork I might add, is absolutely delicious. And they do a lamb one as well.

The only downside is that its such a small place. When it gets busy, there are queues around the block... If you're in the area though, definitely get down there for a quick bite!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkgem_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourke Street Bakery also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bourke Street Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing