We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing food and great beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redoak Boutique Beer Cafe

Redoak Boutique Beer Cafe
201 Clarence Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)
+612 9262 3303
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Redoak Boutique Beer Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 5,341 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this restaurant. We just couldn't stop eating! The service was impeccable (the comped our dessert because some sugar ornament had ended up in one of them without us even having to ask) the food was simply delicious and their taste platters are really fun and satisfying. The atmosphere is also very nice. Laid back but very professional people working there. Thank you for our best night out in Sydney.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mickawind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    61
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent beers and much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Redoak has been a bit of a favourite now for some time, and its a hidden gem that I have taken many overseas friends and local who didn't know of its existence. It has never fail to amaze and delight. The beers are all excellent, with one or two fascinating options (heavy alcohol %) for those with large wallets! I urge visitors to sample the delights from the friendly staff, who provide small tastings if not sure about what options to go for. What makes a trip worthwhile, and will keep the non beer partners happy is the excellent food and restaurant facilities, bolstered by an amazing array of tasting plates which offer small samples with beers to accompany, a great way to eat whilst savouring the many brews! I urge visitors to try, and even the most non beer enthusiast will find something to enjoy. Pleasant decor and seating arrangements, great laid back atmosphere, it has it all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonE1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic beer and food combinations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Beer, wonderful beer. We had the Meat board and matched beers, a good way to try a few different beers without getting drunk. The small portions are not a meal on their own but add a bowl of thick cut chips and you have a good meal. Irish red ale and the Monk Stout were the stand out beers and paired with a great lamb meatball and goat ragout pie.

For the beer connoisseur the Redoak St Nicholas is amongst the best Trappist style beers I have tasted including those I sampled in Belgium. At $18 for a small bottle, it is not a cheap drink but well worth the expense IMHO.

The music is too loud in the bar, and they probably need to work out if they are a restaurant or bar crowd place. The heavy curtains helped but it still made conversation difficult. Overall excellent beer, very good food but too noisy for us. I will be back for the beer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seattle-Maddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top Notch Beers and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were blown away by the redoak. They had an extensive selection of beers, but what set the experience apart was the wonderful service in helping us find the right beers. The food we tried was also fantastic and well paired with our beer choices. Good value for the prices, will definitely be back upon my return to Sydney!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eherzog888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good beer, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Still one of my favourite bars in Sydney. Great tasting beer and an excellent range. Food is very good too - i was let down a little with the sausage an mash on a recent visit, but it came with a free bitter that i hadnt realised (my fault) which made up for it. Great atmosphere, interior and you can get a seat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetravellerfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redoak Boutique Beer Cafe also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Redoak Boutique Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing