We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!!! Great fresh food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musashi - CLOSED

Musashi
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Loved it!!! Great fresh food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Don't ever trust poor reviews where the reviewer as only submitted the one review ever - this place is WONDERFUL! The duck lettuce parcels for entree FANTASTIC! Mains of duck and teriyaki chicken also great. Only down side was the forgot our drinks but service was super fast and food so good we weren't too worried. Close to Capitol Theatre so great before a show!

Helpful?
Thank Mixedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
“I will never come again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was my favourite restaurant.I think this restaurant changed owner. No good Japanese food anymore. The taste is totally different and very disappointing. A lunch special is almost $20 and the soup is very disgusting. Cannot believe it the owner sold this restaurant and now everything is terrible here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Horsebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Desperate for a good dinner after a long drive back from New Castle with an equally hungry toddler. Before my daughter could throw a tantrum just went in the restaurant. They had separate plates and cups for kids, that kept my girl busy while we ordered the food. Menu had good choices. We ordered chicken and fish dishes, among others. The food was really good and delicious. My two year old enjoyed it and when she's happy, we're satisfied. Good service and nice ambiance. Wanted to try the Japanese drink, but some other time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Niz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WARNING!!! Don't go there. This is Korean own and served worst Japanese food in the city..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I am Japanese born Australian, that makes regular trips to Japan and been most of authentic Japanese restaurants in Sydney over 20years. Musashi used to be own by Japanese own restaurant group, but now owned by Korean, all Chief, staffs are Korean and serve so badly. Food is no where near the quality used to be.
I am upset these guys have given Japanese a bad name.
Never to go there. It's crap. You waste your time and money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rage_in_barrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We called in for an evening snack & were impressed. Sake in Melbourne could learn much from Musashi about how to prepare & present a mixed vegetable tempura - the Musashi version was superb & nicely complemented by our glass of wine each (pinot noir for him and sauvignon blanc for me) - & all (unlike Sake) at a very reasonable price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musashi also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing