We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as you are going to get in Sydney”
Review of Chat Thai

Chat Thai
Ranked #54 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“As good as you are going to get in Sydney”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

But not as good as you are going to get in Bangkok. The spice is toned down for the local market, so to me it's bland and tasteless. My wife is Thai and we lived for many years in Thailand so our expectations are different. However, when she doesn't feel like cooking and we want Thai food we will go to Chat Thai as it's the best we have found in Sydney. It's usually very busy and full of Thais from the local community, so that says a lot.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DipCourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    325
    75
    29
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Thai food but....”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I went with my wife and 17 year old daughter and the service needs to be commented on. We were given a round table but within 15 minutes, without asking, the waitress sat a couple down at our table. Maybe that is the Asian culture but living in Sydney, I thought that was rude and my wife and daughter felt very uncomfortable. How dare they do this!

We ordered a bottle of sparkling wine and a two course meal. You would expect the wine to come first with each course delivered separately. Well what a disaster! We were given the starter, then out came one of the mains immediately afterwards. We had to remind the staff of the wine. I kind of understand though as the place is crazy busy so you just need to be forewarned of this. If you are OK with this type of frenetic service then you will enjoy the fabulous, well priced food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaneKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The restauarnt yet another treasure for Sydney,the decor captivating,the service remarkable and the food delicious. Bus ,yet so much warmth from the staff, all of them woking in synergy. If a Thai restaurants Pad Prik King is good you can generally be assured so will be the rest of whats on offer. The Pad Prik King here is perfect. We also had papaya salad ,Goong Yaang and the Massamam curry. Take your own wine and the staff are only too happy to bring you rather nice sparkling glasses.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Thai Restaurant ever!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I LOVE THIS PLACE!! I visited Sydney for 2 days in February, and at there 4 times. Every meal was a culinary delight, and the dessert with sticky rice & baked coconut custard is to die for. It's very busy, so be prepared to wait for a table, or arrive outside normal lunch/dinner hours. It's well worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy-Lou-Australia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not worth the rave reviews”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We ate here a few night ago after reading reviews on several websites. Added our name to the list at 730 pm( no bookings taken here ) and waited. And waited. And waited . Got chatting to another couple in the queue who has been many times before. They were raving about the food. This convinced us to stay in the queue. We finally got a table at 830 pm. Cramped and shared with another party, but this is the best Thai in Sydney right ? Ordered quickly. No issues with service until our entree was delivered to the other people at our shared table. Our mains had already arrived and were nice, but nothing special. Crying Tiger was average.meat was more steamed than grilled and was fairly bland. rice noodles in soy and garlic was nice but nothing special .Small portions which left room for the best dish of the evening which was mango and sticky rice. This dish was wonderful.
We met the people from the queue on the way out. They were mortified that they had raved about the place. They too said that their meal was below average and that they would not be returning. Seems this place is living on its name.

Ate at Chili cha cha the following evening. Superb. Go here instead.

Helpful?
Thank Heg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chat Thai also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Chat Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing