We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“happy as a pig in....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four In Hand

Four In Hand
Ranked #290 of 5,443 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $76
Cuisines: Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Paddington
Bronte
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“happy as a pig in....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Without doubt this is one of the best dining experiences I have ever had.
it was so delicious we had to ask for an extra portion of the amuse bouche, which the friendly, attentive staff were kind enough to provide. It was a demi tasse of a type of bouillabaise, with such depth and different levels of flavour.
The pork is simply DIVINE; it melts in your mouth, the crackling is crispy, and there are several delightful surprise accompaniments on the plate. Like angels dancing on your tongue!

i cannot rate this place highly enough. It deserves every accolade. Bret Cameron, the chef, is worth his weight in gold.
It's not cheap, but in my opinion, 'good value' does not necessarily mean cheap. It means, it's worth what you pay. I'd rather go here once than some

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyBronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    58
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Busselton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lunch in the bar area of the hotel was great. The food was delicious with the Salted fish Brandade beautiful. Having a few plates to share was a great way to try several of the dishes. Prices were reasonable as well. Would be going there again on my next Sydney visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Four in hand have a beautiful menu and really lovely food. Quite pricey, but well worth it. Interesting dishes to try.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a cosy neighbourhood place with attentive staff and fantastic food. The tuna and black pudding entrees exploded with flavour. The menu is a meat lover's dream---and the chocolate dessert---well we had to order an extra one!!!!!! All we can say is GO THERE!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SueDen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't go past the lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The lamb shoulder is to die for!! And the service was brilliant. And a great wine list to boot! Stunning restaurant in a local suburb.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leoharney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four In Hand also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Woollahra, Greater Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Woollahra, Greater Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Four In Hand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing