We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No wonder it is so hard to get into”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Four In Hand

Four In Hand
Ranked #390 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $75
Cuisines: Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Paddington
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“No wonder it is so hard to get into”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a small restaurant in a small Paddington pub. I have tried off an on for a year to get in, as usual trying to book on the day.This time I booked two weeks in advance. So here are the dont's .Dont order a glass of champagne at the bar in the pub. It's $29 a glass. Wine is $10 a glass. Go straight into the restaurant. Order what ever you like for appetizer but only order the pork or Lamborghini both to share for main. They say it's for two to share. No it's for four to share plus the leftovers would feed half the world's starving millions. Let them pick the cheese for you and have a Grappa to finish. The wine selection is seriously good. The service is good but stretched .the atmosphere is wonderful. Book ahead

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connolly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    64
    34
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent menu with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I went to celebrate our wedding anniversary.we had a drink at the bar before our dinner booking and loved the atmosphere. The restaurant has a cosy atmosphere and the menu is excellent. We shared the couples dish of the 12 hour slow roasted lamb shoulder. It was amazing. The wine list is excellent as was the service. We would definately go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele176210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We shared a meal with 6 friends over a Sunday lunch. We spent $150 ahead with wine, 3 courses and cheese. Highly recomend the slow cooked lamb to share for 2 people, the pork was a little dry and tough.The staff were very attentive through out the meal however a little disappointing that we were reminded on a few occasions that we had to leave by 5pm as they needed to set up for dinner service which started at 6pm. Overall an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyExpatSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricey for pub food but allegedly has two SMH chef hats.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

At $38 for mains it's not cheap pub grub. There were three us of and we all had something different but all meals came out on the same plates and the meat portion cut into small pieces. Ehicj made all the meals almost look the same. Perhaps they thought the Paddo generation are getting on and need their meals cut into bite size prices to cope with their false teeth.
The taste was there the cutting up was a liitle disconcerting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VillaBianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Suckling pig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just been for dinner with 15 of us sitting upstairs in the restaurant - we had the suckling pig at $90/head inc service. Was absolutely amazing, stacks of food left over, the pork was amazing and the veggies were awesome - loved it.
Really friendly staff, highly recommended

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hil79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four In Hand also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Four In Hand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing