We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Yum Cha (Dim Sum)”

FISHERMAN'S WHARF SEAFOOD RESTAURANT
Ranked #2,828 of 5,939 Restaurants in Sydney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City West
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Yum Cha (Dim Sum)”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place has the best and freshest Yum Cha in town. Go figure they are above the Sydney Fish Market so their produce just has to come up the stairs. Quick and easy they even validate your parking. Can get crowded after 1200. I cannot understand complaints about service, the trays wizz about so frequently it's great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great yumcha”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

my friends and i heard a lot of things about their yumcha, so we decided to give it a go. the yumcha is excellent. great variety and tasted really fresh. located upstairs above the Sydney Fish Market, you can assume the seafood is fresh.

i recommend the pork buns, dim sum and chicken feet. the service is average, but you can expect that at a large yumcha style restaurant. they do have other items on the menu, but again we heard a lot of good things about the yumcha.

i would definitely recommend the yumcha here as i've tried several other places and this seems to be the best so far.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank themattkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“appalling service!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Being a Melbournian, I’ve always been fond of this place for yumcha during my not too infrequent visits to Sydney. Decided to try the place out for dinner and whilst the food was decent, the service was beyond appalling.

Asked the waiter for recommendations and were given two options “lobster or crab”. When responded, “not looking for those today, could you recommend any other dishes?” his face turned black and literally refused to provide any recommendations.
Ordered multiple dishes which all came out to be of decent (not excellent) quality and with the approximate bill coming to $250 for 4 people.

The waiter gave us the strange silent treatment for our entire dinner duration only to speak to tell me that the EFTPOS machine is closed when I asked for the bill. I told him that I had planned on paying with a credit card and advance notice of this would have been appreciated. Again, the silent treatment began, so I had to go withdrew money to settle the bill.

There were no apologies for this and safe to say, I will not be returning ever to this restaurant where it seems when the most expensive recommendation isn’t taken onboard, they refuse to acknowledge you as a customer.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbToSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Delicious hot and sour seafood soup...”
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Delicious hot and sour seafood soup, great Peking duck, and good yum cha
Points off for giant tv screens blaring down at diners trying to enjoy a meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best yum cha in Sydney.”
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Great view over the water, and you never see the same yum cha trolley twice. Plenty of food & choice. Advice: If you see something you like, grab it! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FISHERMAN'S WHARF SEAFOOD RESTAURANT also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to FISHERMAN'S WHARF SEAFOOD RESTAURANT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing