We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ticked every box” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Face - CLOSED

Fish Face
Price range: $0 - $94
Cuisines: Seafood, Japanese, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Ticked every box”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went to Fishface on Friday night. Had the most beautiful meal. Not often that entrees, mains and dessert all measure up. It isn't cheap but is worth it. We sat at the bench with the window open which was great. Also the staff were really friendly and the meals came out at the right times. Good wine suggestion too. Thanks for our best dining experience in Sydney. Do make the effort to go there. Its worth it.7

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    26
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“annoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went in late saturday without having checked the prices and were shocked when we saw the prices but my wife and I hadn't seen each other for 2 weeks as she had just picked me up at the airport and we had just checked into our hotel (medusa very funky) 50 metres away.......
anyway, wanted to have a big whinge because the mains were so expensive..... but the food was fantastic, my wife and I thought it was the best fish we had tasted in a long time
and so now we're annoyed because we can't whinge about how expensive it was as it was worth every cent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammo50
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Last meal request...ocean trout petunia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is some of the best and freshest seafood in Sydney. You can get anything from the Sashimi or ocean trout petunia to fish and chips. Great attentive friendly service. A small wine list but it is also BYO!!! This has to be one of my favorite meals in Sydney and our go to restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

It's a cute little place (just a few tables and a counter by the window) but the food and service are fantastic! Our waitress was wonderful with suggestions and wine pairing. Had a very casual neighborhood feel. We felt like regulars even though it was our first time there and from 7000 miles away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redhead1566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We found it through a recommendation in The Guardian. We expected a fish 'n' chip shop but it was so much better than that. Small, unfussy, friendly staff and the food was remarkable. I had Balmain Bugs which were fresh, tender, juicy and so beautifully flavoured. My companions both had the omelette with seafood and both raved about it. For dessert I tried the quince upside down cake and my mouth just came alive with the caramel with the odd flake of salt, which was so wonderful (I'm not a pudding person but I'd go back even just for that!). Not cheap, but then nothing in Sydney is. This is an excellent restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fat_cat_louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Face also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing