We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value great location.”
Review of Zaaffran

Zaaffran
Reserve with
Zaaffran is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #233 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent value great location.”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went there on 22 Feb for our last night in Australia. The restaurant has memories for us as we spent the night of my husbands 40th birthday there on our last visit to Australia 10 years earlier. The food was as good as remembered we both had the vegetarian banquet that worked out to approx £25 each. Only the daal was a liitle disappointing as being a bit bland. We had booked to eat on the balcony outside and had an excellent view of the firework display held each Saturday night. The service could have been a little better but being a very busy Saturday night the wait for food was expected and we were in no hurry. Recommended as a great change from the other vegetarian food available in Darling Harbour.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ploutarchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    166
    85
    32
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Every time we come to Sydney for business in February, we go to Zaffrans. This time it did not quite live up to past experiences. Food was still tasty but thats it. Some Indian restaurants are just Wow when you put the food into your mouth. Good location at Darling harbour, staff reasonably helpful but prices a tad expensive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PerthShane57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The food was lovely, we had a lovely view of Darling Harbour as we chose to sit outside, and exceptionally friendly staff. Even though we walked-in on a busy Thursday night without any reservations, the staff did their best to squeeze us in. All in all it was a very enjoyable evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Senuri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Indian Food - Western Style”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

For all the non-Indian people out there, this is the best way to get your taste buds used to Indian food. Not so spicy, not so sweet... just about right. As an Indian, I wouldn't enjoy this food very much because I would classify this as medium to bland. However, for the non-Indian friend I went with to this place it was incredible. She loved it so much that she went on to eat a bit of everything. I'd highly recommend this if you are non-Indian.... I'd not so recommend this for the Indian folk.

Also, do try out the
Cottage Cheese (panneer) dishes
Naan Breads
Masala Chai
Meat dishes

They are all well presented.
Service is great
Outdoor seating is perfect.


All in all you will love it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KashBalabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Captive curry audience”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Being a tourist recently in sydney and being a curry lover this was the restaurant we chose which is overlooking Darling Harbour . Venue is very nice but outside seating area seemed cramped . Food was average they recognised our uk accent and at our request added a bit more spice . Best part of the meal for me was the naan bread ! The meal was very expensive but it's in a touristy area so you'll pay over the odds . Went to the ladies room during the evening and they were not very nice at all I always think this indicates the standards in a restaurant for hygiene cleanliness etc . This was my curry experience in Sydney it would have been nice to ask a local the best place to eat a good curry in Sydney also we felt rushed to eat and go they obviously shut early .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaaffran also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Zaaffran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing