We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood with Sydney View”

The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay
Ranked #189 of 5,839 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Glebe
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Seafood with Sydney View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was perhaps the best seafood meal my wife and I have ever had. The restaurant is away from the city and somewhat hard to find. The building it is in clearly was a boathouse, and from the street side is very unimpressive. Once inside it is beautiful, with a wonderful view of the bay. During dinner we were able to watch rowers in the bay as well as the city lights coming on. A view of he ANZAC bridge was very prominent from the restaurant.The oysters we had were the best that I ever had; clearly they were local. The seafood we had was fantastic and we could not have asked for more. This is truly a special restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redinked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    133
    49
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Culinary heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Late dinner for four on Friday evening. Wonderful dishes particularly their signature Fish Pie. Wide range of oysters and fish. Yummy desserts and cheese board. Lovely vegetables, especially the brussels sprouts. Extensive wine list. Attentive service, lovely room design with wonderful views. Nice, subdued vibe. Not cheap and, as with most high end restaurants, prices for side dishes, starters and desserts are outrageous. Overall very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Recent dinner here was lovely. Extensive wine list which was appreciated. Beautiful view and service was prompt and professional.
The entry to the building was along the left of the building which seemed quite dark on the night I visited. One then enters via stairs to the dining area.
Food was lovely and perfect sized entrée and mains. The hand cut chips were awesome. Just wish I'd left room to sample the cheese for dessert!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2tubbycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aaaaaaaaaaamazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Fish pie; spectacular. Souffle; spectacular. Oysters; spectacular. First time tonight and hopefully many more to come. Champagne list lacking variety however this was overcome with complimentary champagne from our lovely waitress.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This place will always have a special spot in my heart as it was one of the first higher end restaurants we went to when we moved to Sydney. I am sure you have read from other reviews about the fish pie. It truly is worth ordering!!

Helpful?
Thank LPandHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing