We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gorgeous view and food to match” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay

The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay
Ranked #179 of 5,646 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Glebe
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view and food to match”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful position for this gorgeous restaurant.
We have always had lovely service and the view is truly befitting of the amazing food.
The whole vibe of the restaurant makes you want to return time and time again.
The true masterpiece the fish pie.
I have tried alot of other dishes which were so lovely and fresh. But the star is the pie.
Great place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diamondsinchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    122
    44
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best seafood in Sydney!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a four course dinner here last Monday night. The place was almost full and a buzz. The food was amazing in all aspects.could not pick on one thing from the fresh shucked oysters to start to the sweets it was all Devine will be back to this restaurant on next trip to the city.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colsea1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect for special occasion dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a late lunch here on a Sunday. The food was excellent- fresh seafood with beautiful flavours, cooked & presented perfectly. We had a few 'wines by the glass', some pours were smaller than others. The tables seemed more cramped together than the previous times I have been to this restaurant.
We took our toddler with us on this occasion, they don't have highchairs so if you do take children request to sit in the area which has long padded chairs- they can move around a bit more & reach the table easier.
Plenty of well dressed people so don't feel worried about being overdressed for lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tlussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“How refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Not the best food or best location or best service but very good to excellent on all fronts made this an excellent dining experience and very refreshing.

Why? Because the food and service were unpretentious, the quality excellent, concise but interesting wine list, relaxed atmosphere on the water with spectacular city views.

We had the signature Snapper pie which was wonderful, oysters, and a kingfish entree with chorizo and red pepper/chilli paste which worked really well together. The smoked tomato was also very interesting.

My only gripe and not uncommon for many restaurants nowadays is the insistence to keep the wine "off-table" which means you need to wait for a refill. Not a biggie at most times but irritating when staff a rushing to clean-up and reset at the end of the evening and aren't watching for eye contact and attention seeking arm waving.

What's not to like? Overall, not much. Go forth and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savusavu, Fiji
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Really enjoyed our night here. It wasn't cheap but it is a special occasion kind of place.. or us anyway - and I thought it was value for money. We had a great G&T in the bar, then fantastically fresh oysters (one of their specialities), beautiful seafood, lovely wine (very impressive wine list) and a table right at the front, overlooking the water and the impressive Anzac Bridge, the beautifully-lit Australian flags flapping in the breeze. It's a fabulously special Sydney experience. The staff were great that makes you feel like you're getting out and experiencing Sydney as the locals do.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing