We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth dining here for a special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay

The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay
Ranked #89 of 5,345 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Gluten Free, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Glebe
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“worth dining here for a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Went here this week for a birthday celebration. Position and ambience are really excellent. Entrees were very good, ham hock croquettes and a fish and scallop dish. Followed that with the superb Snapper Pie and the Barramundi. Desserts of cannoli and a wonderful dish of watermelon, strawberries, pannacotta and rose flavoured cream. Interesting that there wasn't a prawn dish at all, not complaining, I just thought that shellfish, apart from oysters, were a bit under-represented. Service was top class, the pocket hurt but the meal didn't let us down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    114
    37
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing view, meal was not amazing, but still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

You can't beat this view of the city at night. It is a different angle then most see and it is lovely. The food this time was good but not amazing. Wines and champagne by the glass are limited compared to other restaurants of this calibre

The oysters selection is second to none. The menu this time didn't seem as good as last time and the entree I chose was miniature for $27. The main of Jewfish wasn't my favourite and my friend had the snapper pie which we also had last visit. Chips were beyond disappointing. They were wedges, so advertise them as such. Double cooked and hard to eat. Years ago on our last visit the fat chips were a highlight lined up in soldiers, now that was amazing!

No dessert took our fancy so an early night. Good, but not great. Main waiter a real professional and showman, but other waiters lacking in personality.

A side note is that I left a message for a booking and never got a call back, when I called again to confirm they just said "we're closed for a function". Ok, but you should call people back. I expected a lot more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Waitermorebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish restaurant with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is everything a restaurant should be. Beautiful, with lovely white tablecloths and a subtle but buzzy atmosphere. The views out over the water are breathtaking. This is nothing like a tourist place that will rip you off in exchange for a view of the harbour bridge (or, more likely, a cruise ship). The staff are knowledgeable and extremely friendly without being overbearing. You can choose from around ten different types of oyster, and then at least five different fish. The wine list is excellent (I recommend the Earthworks Shiraz as a tasty but not too expensive choice). The cooking is superb. Everything here looks effortlessly elegant, but of course a lot of effort and love has gone into everything. No one who comes here could possibly be disappointed - it's the kind of place you dream about finding every time you open a guidebook to anywhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We dined here for the second time recently for my husband's 40th birthday. The service and the food were impeccable yet again. Not one person in our party was unhappy with their meal - instead there was just moans of ecstasy and delight at the gastronomical seafood heaven we experienced. Beautiful view both at night and during the day and staff who are happy to assist no matter what. We utilised our Citibank card and were happily given the choice of a free bottle of wine without any issues. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank megmeisterrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

On a perfect autumnal day in Sydney, sitting in the corner with a panoramic view of Blackwattle Bay we enjoyed a delicious lunch. Rowers entertained us as we ate oysters with champagne, then moved onto entrees and mains which were beautifully plated and food flavours were distinct, clean and enjoyable. The oyster menu is varied with mostly Sydney but also South Australia as well. Excellent range of wines and the menu has choices to suit all diners. The wait staff were professional and knew their job. We will definitely go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Boathouse on Blackwattle Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing