We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, quick service. Worth the wait!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamak

Mamak
Ranked #24 of 5,450 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, quick service. Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been to Mamak several times, and this is one of my firm favourites in Sydney CBD.

Mamak serves up a range of incredibly tasty Malaysian dishes, most notably a wide range of interesting rotis and curries. The drinks, though a little more generic in nature, are still quite tasty (the ais te and ais kofi are great). All dishes offer fairly good value for money

The restaurant has a warm ambience, although it does tend to get a little noisy. Not quite the place for a romantic date, but perfect if you're hanging out with friends.

The service is very quick, although a little rushed because of the crowds that inevitably throng the restaurant. A 15-20 min queue on a weekend is quite normal. But do invest that time, the wait is well worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer_Kaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    394
    91
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Theatrical Malaysian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place is roti heaven!
What drew us into the restaurant was the view of the kitchen from the footpath. One can stand in front of the glass window & watch masterful chefs "roll & throw out" these delicious roti & cook them before your very eyes on the hot grill plates - a mouth-watering piece of kitchen theatre!
We dined here on a busy weekday lunch & the restaurant was packed. It looked like we got one of the last remaining tables but you could see others were turning over quite quickly & there was never a long wait for people to be seated.
The service was very efficient & drinks & food came quick & fresh!
The three of us shared some roti canai, chicken murtabak & sambal sotong, accompanied with rice. The menu had some great choices & I this made me sad, seeing it was our only opportunity to dine here on this business trip! A bonus was how inexpensive the food was - roti canai @ $5.50. (I know I'd prefer this to a pie or sausage roll!)
Great Malaysian comfort food, friendly efficient service & good value - what more could you want?
I look forward to returning!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WinemakerGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Malay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you love roti you should vist this place. The line up was to the outside corner just to get in for lunch. The sambal was nice and hot. The lamb curry beautiful. We will be going back to try the rest of the menu. Worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenzaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Wandered past by accident when we were in Sydney and noticed a queue under a sign that said Satay and Roti - that sure got me interested. We went back the next night (Sunday) to give it a try -same queue and I don't like queues we waited about 30 minutes. Absolutely worth the wait! Tried the 12 stick Satay, Mie Goreng and Roti. Hard to fit it in but forced in a coconut Roti desert all fantastic. Obviously very busy but staff were very efficient and friendly. Food very hot and very fresh. Medium spicy if your used to Malay food. I thought the prices were very reasonable. We will certainly be going back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnnDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Malaysian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

great food and great service. If you look for some good malaysian food its the best place to go in Sydney. It is however quite expensive. Around 5 AUD for a Roti...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 750traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamak also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mamak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing