We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mamak

Mamak
Ranked #32 of 5,839 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best in sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Not having been for a while, I went for lunch which was fantastic. Very authentic satay and roti. It's noisy, very busy but that is part of the atmosphere. I always look forward to a visit here when heading to sydney.

Helpful?
Thank KMJphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    467
    110
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
222 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always a queue here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Been here a few times and there is always a line despite other Malaysian restaurants near by
The main reason is the price and secondly the food, the food though almost everything on the menu is spicy
The place though is small and thus partly the reason why people line up
For me the food does not taste like food back in Malaysia but the taste is one to its own.
There is a lot of hype here and i think its worth going too to see why this place is so popular

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“best roti..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

we were in sydney for 5 days and visited this place 5 times.. the original roti is to die for along with the dessert style TALL roti.. amazing.. yes you queue up to get in but its worth the wait and to be honest the queue moved very quickly.. we want this in perth!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leelee009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would never queue BUT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I would never queue BUT this is an exception. The food is delicious.
I highly recommend ayam berempah. Rotis are a must.
Don't forget to have an air limau (Lime juice)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss about?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

After reading the glowing reviews for this place, we decided to give it a go - and were even prepared to queue outside in the heat for our table.....which we did for about 15 minutes (despite arriving at 6.15pm - they open at 5.30pm). We were lucky to get in before some of the groups queued before us - tables for 2 seemed to turnaround quickly...and now we know why!

First impressions of the restaurant - a bit grotty, very ordinary and very very noisy. The place needs refurbishment e.g. the bench seating vinyl is worn and cracked. A noisy, busy restaurant however is usually a good sign...so we were excited!

We didn't have to wait long to order - and the waitress was polite but unhelpful when it came to recommendations and info on portion sizes. So we ordered their Roti Canai, satay chicken skewers, slow cooked curry lamb, spicy tiger prawns and rice.

Well...we're obviously a bit naive when it comes to Malaysian cuisine - because we assumed that the dishes would come out separately - mainly because the table was so small!

Nooooo...silly us - out it all came at the same time!!!! It was quite an awkward moment, as there was no apology from the waiters...and we were left to make room on our midgy table by balancing full plates on top of each other.

So we had a heap of food on the table at once - demanding to be eaten or get cold - and we were catapulted into a frenzy of eating food to have the dishes removed to make space on our table.

It was a frantic meal - made uncomfortable by the balancing of plates and cutlery - and we were exhausted by the time we had finished - in 45 minutes flat! Now you know how they turnaround tables for 2 so quickly - which is ok if you're in a hurry...but just don't order too much!

The food itself was ok - the curries were a bit stodgy and heavy - but tasty. Price wise - the roti was about $5, mains $17-19.

Overall, our dining experience was very disappointing at Mamak. We're a bit puzzled by the sensational reviews it has received - we did note that the majority of customers were in the 20-30 age bracket..so perhaps this is a reflection of their preferences...don't know - but we don't think it's worth queuing for this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RnR_Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamak also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mamak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing