We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum”
Review of Mamak

Mamak
Ranked #33 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Managed to avoid the usual long queues after waiting for so long to try this place. Food was so yummy. We tried Rotty canai and rice with Kari Ayam and Kari Ikan and their gravy was so thick and yummy, just how we like it. I am sure I will go there again for sure.
Place itself is a bit small but was ok since the food was great. Now, please go and try! Service was super fast.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrishanRodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    482
    114
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Highly recommended from a Malaysian”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I can't agree with those who didn't like it.
It is near impossible to get 100% identical taste to Malaysia's food due to ingredients (unfortunately our customs and climate doesn't permit freshly grown or abundant of Asian ingrd) and let's not start with comparison of prices... OMG we are NOT in Msia so don't compare to Ringit pls.

Food was one of the best, price for Syd is pretty good, ambiance can be abit noisy but makes it more exciting (and Chinatown).

Would recommend anyone to come. Avoid peak time is my recommendation OR come in 2s only. You'll see all couples are pushed through first.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellerAddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Malaysian food”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is extremely popular. Now we know why: extremely good malaysian food for a relatively low price. Sadly I don't live in Sydney to come here more often. To avoid queues come around 1pm - worked perfect for us!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Momo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal.. great value.. worth the wait”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had passed Mamak several years ago on another visit to Sydney but the idea of waiting outside in a line didn't appeal, however, on an evening with time to spare I thought it worth the wait. I was pleasantly surprised that it wasn't that long... the line moves quickly and the show of watching the staff prepare the roti was great entertainment.
The food was delightful. The spices were more than I was familiar with in terms of combinations and use. A selection of items from the menu offered a varied but excellent selection of Malaysian foods, and the roti is well worth the visit alone. Mains are varied and substantial.. all at an excellent price. Added to that that the corkage fee for wine was $2 per person..
I was not rushed... the service was polite and friendly.. it was an excellent meal and lovely dining experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank citroenbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Taste sensation”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and daughter and I went to Mamak Golburn Street for lunch on Friday Feb 15th. It was sensational. We shared a the lamb curry, spicy prawns, a nasi goreng and the satay sticks. The peanut sauce on the chicken sticks was like nothing I've ever tasted. Absolutely delicious, I wanted to take what was left in the bowl home. But of course I didn't. I would highly recommend this resturant and will back as soon as I can get there. Please open one in the southern suburbs of Sydney.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargieMilperra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamak also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mamak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing