We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault this gem in any way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mamak

Mamak
Ranked #28 of 5,822 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
coffs harbour
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault this gem in any way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I went to Mamak's sister restaurant at Chatswood last week for lunch with family and we all agreed it was a splendid meal. The service was very fast and friendly and the food was excellent in every way. We shared a couple of curries - lamb and chicken, plus the original rotis and a plate of a dozen sate sticks, the peanut sauce they came with was some of the best we had tasted, and we have all travelled extensively throughout Asia.
I would definately return to this gem of a restaurant, pity they don't have one in Coffs Harbour where I live.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbieCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    455
    104
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL AND AUTHENTIC MALAY FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Now this is a treasure of ever growing proportions. Having dined there when it first opened about four years ago I was a little apprehensive of returning due to its ever increasing popularity and resulting queues. The food is excellent and the patrons obviously discerning in their expectations of quality and authenticity. Be guided by the choices of other diners if a novice to dishes on offer. The Roti however is a must as is the salt and pepper prawns. Bring your own alcohol which will be served to you by the wonderful and professional staff who have radiant smiles and manners to match. Don't however plan to be there for an extended lunch or dinner as the restaurant is known for its rapid turnover. A great place for both an early lunch and early dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The roti, their specialty was delicious. Very busy little restaurant, expect to stand in line. Restaurant is BYO and fast paced and noisy, well worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kazza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great experience food for malay cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

For spicy and herbs lovers must try,especially for prata,nasi lemak and spicy cuttlefish owww....
So amazing foods and need patience to waited for long queue especially lunch and dinner time. For winter time this foods and herbsmakes ur body warm . So....try it...bet u'll be back for second, third .... and lots more

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank canny_cia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“yammy Malaysian cuisine in city, Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

we went to Mamak for dinner after waited on the queue about 30-45 mins to get in.
and someone told me here it's like the best Malaysian restaurant in town.
yeah the food was great(we liked beef satay and ordered the many types of Roti ) we were made to feel welcome and definitely will go there again. the price is very reasonable.
location is the best just in the city...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank note_bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamak also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mamak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing