We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and tasty”
Review of Menya

Menya
Ranked #1,923 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap and tasty”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

For those who avoid Japanese because they think it's all about raw fish - like I used to - this is the place to try. Great variety, good prices, very tasty. Based on the clientele, I'm guessing it is fairly authentic. We've eaten there 3 times now, and enjoyed every time. Very casual as well, which is great for a fast meal. I'm not sure why sushi, sashimi, etc, has taken over in the popular conscience as representing Japanese cuisine, when there are really great places like this around.

Helpful?
1 Thank LOCKMAC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best ramen in Sydney”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Affordable Ramen in Sydney. Order and pay first before sitting down. around $10 AUD for a ramen. Great soup. Close walk to Darling Harbour and train station. Plenty street parking nearby.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank simonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best ramen in Sydney”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Although Menya is hidden (won't see it if you just walk by the corner of Market and Kent), it's always very busy for lunch at business hours. No wonder why, ramen is always very fresh and tasty, not too salty, large portions but with an appropriate balance between the different ingredients. And, on top of all, it's very cheap, any ramen dish below $12. Service is friendly and, above all, fast and effective. While everything I've tried is very good, tonkotsu ramen is absolutely superb, might even make a ramen addict out of you. I've tried several Japanese restaurants in Sydney and, being a fan of soups from many traditions, I've had my share of ramen and some have been pretty good. Menya's tonkotsu is, nonetheless, in a league of its own. Go try it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch4muy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick and Delicious Ramen!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Best ramen in Sydney! The ramen noodles is cooked perfectly, soft with texture. The soup is just delicious, either chicken or pork based. You go just for the food, not the experience or atmosphere. You order first and then you sit and wait for your meal. The service is quick and efficient.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydTraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
417 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great noodles!”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I'm a regular at Menya on Market Street as they serve a really nice variety of Japanese noodles. I normally have one of the ramen soup noodles but on this occasion, I don't know what possessed me to have the dynamite jya-jya noodles. Holy smoke!! I think I left with brain damage! More seriously, it was brutally hot so be warned.

Just a tip at lunch time - either be very early for the opening at midday or late. It's incredibly busy from about 12 -1.30pm

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menya also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Menya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing