We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Offering and Quality Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coopers Hotel

Coopers Hotel
Ranked #1,327 of 5,815 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Newtown
Description: Encapsulating Newtown chic, The Cooper's Hotel transcends from your homely local to a sophisticated bistro and deck bar. Celebrating Inner city life we are as diverse as our community. Our staff; their creations, service & energy tell the story of urbanity. Soak up the sun or sit under the stars in our Rooftop Garden, enjoy an array of delicious cocktails, finely selected wines and craft beers from our Garden Bar, or delight your tastebuds with some of our delectable tapas share plates and mains.
Moruya
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food Offering and Quality Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Went with a group of 12 on a Tuesday night. after a long day conferencing we were looking forward to a great selection of beers and some superb food - recommended by a local,
We weren't disappointed - they have just changed the menu - the food is some of the best I have had in Sydney - and not your normal pub food. They had a good selection of fresh craft beers - they already had the new Hop Thief 6 on tap and my new favourite Kosciousko Pale Ale.
Great helpful friendly staff - top night Thank you from all of us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MustangNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalPhillips88, Manager at Coopers Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us!

It's so wonderful to hear that you were happy with the recommendation to come and visit us for dinner! We do change the menu, it's seasonal so I believe you would have been sitting down to our winter menu. We'll be changing it again for Summer, but we've also recently introduced some tapas items on to our menu which you should come and try, they are delicious! Also great to hear you enjoyed our craft beer selection, we try to keep it fresh by changing it up every so often with new crafts that are coming out.

Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon!
Crystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best steak ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

It doesn't look much from the outside but upstairs is amazing. I went with my daughter on a recent trip and the food was sensational. I had fish (real fish, not some wet watery frozen stuff) and my daughter had the steak - in hindsight, we ought to have shared the steak cause it was huge, and cooked to perfection. The only dampener was you paid for your food (Eptpos) and then drinks needed to be paid for at another counter where there's a $20 minimum. If you only want a glass of wine with your meal, you're better of buying a few.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NZJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalPhillips88, Manager at Coopers Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
You're spot on, our venue is a little deceiving from the outside, but I'm glad you found our Rooftop Garden - it's a great little spot. Thank you for your kind words about the quality of our food. We really do pride ourselves on producing and delivering dishes of the highest standard, so it's really great to hear what you thought of your experience with us. And you can now order and pay for your meals at the same counter, so if you were to come again we would be able to do it nice and easily for you.

Thanks again for the lovely words, hopefully you join us again soon!
Crystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“nice food and service. good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

i think this place may be under new management or really lifted their game. i have been coming here regularly for a few years and about 2 years ago the food and service really went downhill.
But coming here again recently both food and service levels were back up to scratch.
they've really streamlined the menu and it changes seasonally. I had a grillled mulloway with stuffed baby calamari and it was absolutely delicious. I recommend this place for a nice easy, casual meal thats big on taste and effort thats not too pricey!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haamsuplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalPhillips88, Manager at Coopers Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our pub! New management did take over the venue a few years ago and we have been working to ensure that the dishes and level of service we deliver are of the highest possible standard. I'm so glad you were able to visit us again recently and had a positive experience prompting you to write this review. Hopefully you pop in to see us again soon, Crystal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I had lunch here last week with my husband and the food was delicious. I had the linguine with prawns & rocket and my husband had the risotto with scallops. We normally share our meals but I just couldn't this time as the linguine was too good. I would come back in a flash.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalPhillips88, Manager at Coopers Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review! Our Prawn Linguini has been a staple on our menu for years now. We do change our menus seasonally, but due to the popularity of this dish this has made the cut time and time again! Hopefully you've been in to visit us since and continue to do so. Thanks again for the review, Crystal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Upstairs at Coopers Hotel is very different from when you enter via King Street. The food upstairs is really good and the atmosphere trendy (unlike the dingy room downstairs with strange people). We attempt to eat here once every couple of weeks. The steaks are really good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HiDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coopers Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Coopers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing