We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee Exceptional, Food Matches”

Single O Surry Hills
Ranked #143 of 5,836 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Description: We are a Sydney-based roaster and have a cafe in Surry Hills that some lovely folks have gone so far as to call 'legendary'. Our coffee is responsibly sourced and for the most part responsibly consumed. We are driven. Which could have something to do with the amount of coffee we consume. We aim to inspire coffee passion and exploration, to raise the bar and have customers who don't mind that we're a touch nuts. Our quality standards are uncompromising. For all our joking around, we take the coffee, food and service seriously.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Coffee Exceptional, Food Matches”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Met my son for lunch at this small Cafe in Reservoir Street Surrey Hills. Although the menu was limited the meals were exceptional for a Cafe with limited space. Seats cascade onto the streetscape but on a rainy day the driving wind made it difficult to sit outside. Coffee was delightful and it made us ask for a 2nd round. The Chef overlooked the proceedings from his small bar and chatted to customers. The 'Sunday Roast' was one of the best beef dishes I have experienced for awhile - The slithers of tender beef were to die for. Unfortunately my son who is a vegetarian found the menu wanting, with very little choice. Girls efficient but little character. Overall a good venue for a quick lunch.

Helpful?
Thank TerrywithaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    47
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“The poached eggs are a must.”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

In a nice location with street-side seating, Single Origin Roasters is a good breakfast option. The poached eggs are great, however the serving is small (with one small piece of toast). The coffee was good, however it took about 25 minutes for ours to arrive (longer than the food took).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There's a reason this place is packed: It's simply the best.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I first visited Single Origin (SO) a few months after they opened in 2003. Back then it was a small sparsely decorated shop, but the combination of the heady scent emanating from Boris the coffee roaster, and the unabashed enthusiasm and passion of the owners and staff, were totally infectious. You simply wanted this place to succeed - and it has.

Better still, unlike small places that get bigger, SO has never lost sight of the reasons they started this business: To simply make great coffee. Along the way they've gone further and now serve wonderful breakfast and lunch fare, which might be a tad expensive at times, but never disappoints for flavour and quality.

The brewing bar, a more recent development that's been opened next door to the original premises, has helped speed up the process of just grabbing a coffee to go. Nevertheless, most morning's there's still a bit of a wait, but if you're a coffee tragic, it's all worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We're lucky it's our local”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Single Origin is our local - we have at least one coffee per weekday there. The only problem is that It's not open at weekends. Solved that one by buying their whole coffee beans and making our own coffee at weekends. They have quite an array of beans from different regions and the baristas, especially Shoji, will happily share their knowledge about them. The food is brilliant too, both the breakfast and lunch menus, which change with the seasons. There are only a few dishes on each but all done very well. For breakfast I recommend the perfectly poached eggs on sourdough toast with a side of house-cured bacon. Order your coffee when your food is served and it will arrive at just the right time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndell U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
428 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“The best coffee”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This coffee is some of the best in Sydney. These people love coffee, cherish coffee and serve the very best coffee.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ozrick33Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Single O Surry Hills also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Single O Surry Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing