We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Laska in Sydney”
Review of Malay Chinese

Malay Chinese
Ranked #296 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Laska in Sydney”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've being searching for the best laska in Sydney over the years... and no place comes close to Malay Chinese! I recommend this place to my work colleagues all the time..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phunk1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    48
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Laksa in town”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I used to go to Malay for lunch with a friend every now and again as there really was no better laksa. I would switch between the veggie and the chicken and they were great choices for a very filling meal and it helped it was easy on the wallet also.

This place made me fall in love with Laksa's and now I am looking for a place just as good.

There will be a line especially at lunch times and it can be quite cramped and you have to be quick if you would like to sit down but its definitely worth it.

It's a blink and miss it kind of place but trust me once you find it you wont miss it next time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitz_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
175 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great flavor, price and location. GO”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very busy, get there ahead of lunch rush hour as office workers stream in from all over the CBD. You will be very challenged to get a seat at this time. We got lucky.

Had laksa with chicken and prawns. To be honest the prawns were smaller than I or my Aussie lunch companion thought they would be, but it didn't matter. The whole concoction of creamy coconut milk base with noodles and veggies made the thing. It was utterly fantastic.

Price was as cheap as you would pay for fast food and a whole lot better: $9 a bowl.

Be warned, if you have a meeting shortly afterwards like we did, you will get very sleepy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“bit expensive”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

ordered corn soup..wasnt nice...ordred chicken wings ...came with a lot of gravy but tasted deliscious ! beef stirfry with honey peas also tasted awesome! overall food tasted great! but the serving was very less and found it to b a bit pricey~!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank shafaqsjc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Laksa King”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Althou i'm a regular at the malay chinese restaurant but i've recently discovered a new laksa place at chinatown called Nonya, love their laksa and hainese chicken!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IamtheFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malay Chinese also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Malay Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing