We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special dining experience”
Review of Tetsuya's

Tetsuya's
Ranked #12 of 5,862 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $167 - $167
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Tetsuya's serves a ten course degustation menu. The degustation is unique, based on the Japanese philosophy of using natural seasonal flavours, enhanced by classic French technique and utilising the freshest possible ingredients. Tetsuya designed his own on-site "test kitchen" within the restaurant to enable him to create the constantly evolving and inspiring dishes on which he has built his esteemed international reputation. Tetsuya's offers one of Sydney's most comprehensive wine lists and our sommeliers will, upon request, match the dishes with wine available by the glass.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Special dining experience”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was my 2nd visit to Tetsuya's, my first visit was in the private dining room with a large group, this 2nd visit was for a special dinner with my partner for our wedding anniversary.
Every aspect was excellent. The food was fantastic, matching wines were paired really well with each degustation meal. Service was excellent from both our waitress & sommelier. An expensive meal but well worth it for a special memorable dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tlussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    210
    97
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“definitely worth a visit!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

visited here in 2009. finally made it to Tetsuya after trying to book for so long. the tasting menu prices at the time was very reasonable compared to other fine dining restaurants popping up everywhere charging exorbitant prices without the same experience that Tetsuya has to offer.

once inside the restaurant, your dining amongst a Japanese garden, definitely very zen. the food as expected was fresh, innovative and enjoyable.

located right in the heart of the city with valet parking!

would return here for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great night of food and wine”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful food in a beautiful setting.
Food and wine fantastic, special place to take that special person for a magical evening.

Helpful?
Thank Paigelachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for special occasions”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was taken here for a celebration meal and was very excited to try out the infamous restaurant. This is probably my favourite overall dining experience amongst the Sepia, Rockpool, Quay etc. group for overall but it's perhaps not as exciting as Sepia was.
Not a drinker so I opted for the Tea Degustation and while it was fun to have some sort of drinking option, it was probably not really worth while. Big tea fan but I'd say it's something that could be skipped.

Lots of birthdays and anniversaries happening around us so I'd say it's a place you put down for those kind of occasions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizstomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

1st Time to this magic place, will be back, every dish was perfect Roasted bug with Oxtail my favorite.

Fantastic service.


Only little crit, some faint back ground music would be great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tetsuya's also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Tetsuya's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing