We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location (Chinatown). OK Food.”

Hingara Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #1,414 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great location (Chinatown). OK Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This Chinese restaurant is located at the end of the walk stretch of Chinatown. It has pleasant outdoor seating. On a busy and late night we ordered for three persons, sweet and sour fried whole fish (for AU$48), braised tofu with vegetable and mushrooms (for AU$19), gingered scallops (for AU$28), and steamed rice. All of the dishes taste just fine. It took quite some time for us to get served, though, but the service was ok. Compared to other Chinese restaurants in the vicinity, this restaurant is definitely not cheap.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thehiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    57
    23
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Out late looking for dinner and found Chinatown was the only possibility closeby. All the restaurants were closing but Hungara was prepared to serve us, so one point for that.

Husband had Short Soup as an entree and really enjoyed the texture and flavour of the prawn dumplings. He followed this with Combination Noodles, very tasty with plenty of mixed meat and seafood. I had the Stir Fried Mixed Vegetables which was tasteless. I think they must have left an ingredient or two out of the sauce. I could have complained but being hungry and arriving so late I ate it all.

Well done Hungara for feeding us when others would not and perhaps I should have said something about my tasteless dish or even just splashed some soy sauce to add some flavour instead of whingeing about it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Menu with pictures which made choosing a little easier. We had 2 starters, 3 main dishes and 2 soft drinks and 2 beers, came to 120 dollars. Not the best or worst meal of my life. Restaurant is in Chinatown so its a great spot to people watch. But I would think there are better restaurants in Chinatown!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nufc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We did not have a reservation and being a party of five on a Friday night was hard to find a good restaurant without having to wait. They were incredibly busy but organised us a table within five minutes.We ordered six dished to share off the menu. excellent food and service. Would recommend

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
177 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Avoid this tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I should know better than to eat in places like this. All the signs of a bad restaurant. Including a very westernized version of Chinese food & pictures on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurferPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hingara Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Hingara Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing