We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic tourist spot for a great view of the bridge while enjoying great seafood”

Sydney Cove Oyster Bar
Ranked #122 of 7,515 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $42
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Enjoying an excellent reputation as one of Sydney’s best seafood restaurants, the Sydney Cove Oyster Bar is the only seafood restaurant positioned right on the water’s edge at Sydney Cove. The menu has a modern feel with an abundance of Australian shellfish and selection on 6 different regional oysters all shucked to order. The atmosphere is relaxed and the views across Sydney Harbour are world class. This unique venue offers a truly amazing dining experience that will leave you wanting more.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

We entertained an interstate visitor there and arrived early to secure a great table.
Service was excellent and the food was superb. The large serve of 3 different types of oysters was a real winner. Wine choices were very good and we had a great time on a lovely balmy evening

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2019

Good hospitality, nice dinner, not many people on Sunday.
We enjoyed the sunset and the views while having a nice social meeting.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Horacio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

With such a prime tourist spot this could easily have been a disappointment . One waitress was hopeless but we were very lucky being looked after by a young man from Slovakia.
He was attentive and his advice spot on .
The fresh oysters were great ( not the best Kilpatrick) and the Morton Bay Bugs were the best I have eaten .
Good sensibly priced wine list .
Great night

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019

We had booked a table in advance and when we arrived they seated us at one of the only three tables that had no shade whatsoever from the evening sun off the water. I asked if we could be seated at another table (the other tables had screens that blocked the majority of the sun) the short answer was no or we could come back later. There were multiple tables available. I politely declined and spent my money elsewhere. The fact that you have a popular restaurant is not an excuse for a take it or leave it attitude.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019

Our dining experience last night was an epic ending to a great 15 day adventure in Australia and New Zealand. Our group of 4 decided to have a late night dinner at the famous Sydney Oyster Bar. It came recommended by our hotel concierge. After being seated in the restaurant and getting our beverages, the manager offered to move us to a table on the water. One member of our group asked what non-seafood items were available and the manager offered to make any of the dishes without seafood. Alec A. went above and beyond to make this evening a special ending to a fabulous vacation for the 4 of us. Thank you Alec.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MnSun6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Cove Oyster Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Cove Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing