We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful afternoon lunch”

Sydney Cove Oyster Bar
Ranked #39 of 5,836 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $62
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
PLEASANTON
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon lunch”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Had a couple of cold Peroni beers, a dozen oysters and the Tamarind prawns and garlic bread. Everything was wonderful. The waiter was fun to talk with. Beautiful setting on the water between the Opera house and Ferry terminal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CHARLES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    377
    93
    28
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Need more oysters”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The food was fantastic. The selection of oysters was minimal for a place called the oyster bar. The service was decent but could have been more attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Cwarticki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous and unexpected”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

nb - we dropped in here after an afternoon performance at the opera house so it wasn't busy and we could sit where we liked; give this place's location I suspect that at normal eating hours things might be different.

The Oyster bar is an outdoor restaurant on the Sydney Harbour quay with great views of both Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. We went on a beautiful day at about 4pm when it was quiet and had a waterside table that overlooked everything Sydney has on it's post cards.

The Crab Linguini was a fabulous dish for such a tourist spot - in fact my wife said it was one of the best dishes she's eaten in a restaurant; and she's had a few! Sadly the fish and chips not so good.

This is a really pleasant place for an informal and unplanned lunch that can't easily be beaten.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjd_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No better place to be in Sydney....”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

What a setting, what a view, what a gorgeous place to be. I love this restaurant, the spectacle of the harbour and the bridge is simply without equal. Sitting right beside the harbour just makes me happy to be in Sydney. Now for the food....its delicious. The last time I went there we ordered an array of entre dishes and what a sumptuous array of dishes were set before us. The wine is always wonderful...and if you are lucky to have a passenger liner docked just opposite at the overseas terminal, you might just catch our lovely harbour in action with all the tug boats and razamataz as the ship heads off on its voyage. My favourite place to be in Sydney!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great oysters”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great seafood. Amazing wine. With a great location and wonderful view of the Sydney Harbor Bridge. A must while in Sydney.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Cove Oyster Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Cove Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing