We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Improved”

Sydney Cove Oyster Bar
Ranked #39 of 5,836 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $62
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My friends and I had stopped coming here after several disappointing visits. I am pleased to say that after trying it again (after a lengthy absence), the food is back to the old standard - excellent. Not sure if it's a new chef but we thoroughly enjoyed this visit. None of us had any complaints about the food and the staff were all extremely friendly. Well done on reverting to your previous high standard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    377
    93
    28
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food, service and atmosphere .”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you are looking for great food and service with an amazing view, this is your place. Sitting between the Opera House and the Harbor Bridge , it does not get much better :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional view - great food - great for people watching”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Sat out under the umbrellas with a view of the bridge, the Quay traffic, in front of the opera house. It was a fantastic appetizer and wine spot prior to dinner. I'm sure their dinner was awesome. I enjoyed the scallop appetizer - fresh, excellent preparation, and very flavorful. This is a great location to soak up conversation, and watch the world go by down under.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely Fathers Day lunch with our daughter. This place was very busy and we didn't make a reserevation. After a short wait we were shown to our table. The staff were very friendly and the service and meal were excellent, along with the fabulous view.
We had a lovely afternoon with our daughter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M007J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“Great Food but....”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

No problem with the food at all very good. Service was prompt and professional as expected in this prime location. Only gotcha that put us off was having cockroaches crawl over my feet during the evening. Yes I know the city is riddled with them but gets me every time. Won't stop me coming back but probably during daylight

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nemesis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Cove Oyster Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Cove Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing