We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hot pot is amazing”

Shiki Japanese Restaurant
Reserve with
Shiki Japanese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #478 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $73 - $84
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hot pot is amazing”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed across the road at the Harbour Rocks Hotel for a long weekend away and were sent here by the staff. We both love Japanese food and were not disappointed by Shiki. It could e a little hard to see if you didn't know it was there as it is one floor up from the street. Once we got in there was a nice young man who greeted us. Inside is very nice with stepping stones and running water over a pond. We were seated and upon looking at the menu we both chose the wagu hot pot. We had never had it before but we both wanted to try it. They brought over a square pot that they plug in and put in some sauces. They then left us all the food on a plate for us to cook in the pot and dip in an egg and eat. It was one of the best meals ever. We will definitely be back and we know what we'll be ordering.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamesc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best Japanese in Sydney”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Shiki was recommended by a friend. We had seen the restaurant several times before however I assumed it was there for the tourists rather than being somewhere we would want to try. I'm so glad we did. This is just the best sashimi and the sushi rolls are to die for...try the spicy tuna and the geisha rolls. We've been back several times and I haven't stopped recommending it. Excellent food and great service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The food at this very nice Japanese restaurant is sublime. It only serves what is fresh that day and blow your mind with their talented chefs.
The verify of fresh seafood is great and is a must eat at experience for anyone in the cbd.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh sashimi and tasty Saki!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great venue overlooking Harrington and Argyle streets in the Rocks. Would recommend paying for a private dining room for an extra special Japanese dining experience.

The portion sizes are good and the food is very fresh. Service was excellent with the waiter explaining the dishes on arrival at the table. The selection of Saki is great and worth trying if you are not familiar with the drink. Even though the restaurant was busy there was no pressure to leave and pay once we had finished our food. Do not expect a cheap meal however.

Would definitely recommend to any sushi lovers out there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Japanese cuisine though confusing menu”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had their Hotpot menu though three out of a group of four of us didn't understand how to order and what it meant until it was explained a few times by the waitress. The shabu shabu was a good size and flavoursome, though the winner for me was the Signature Wagyu pink salt BBQ portion of the set menu. Sashimi was quite fresh. Overall a little pricey but would probably go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swtmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiki Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Shiki Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing