We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rockpool near Pitt Street” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eleven Bridge

Eleven Bridge
Reserve with
Eleven Bridge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 5,815 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $126
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: With an emphasis on this country’s finest and most sustainable produce, Executive Chef Phil Wood’s seasonally inspired a la carte menu offers a diverse selection of modern Australian dishes, interspersed with celebrated classics from the Rockpool Group’s rich culinary history. Eleven Bridge celebrates the mastery and art of the finest cooking. In the kitchen, the skill of our chefs is paramount as we highlight the nature of individual ingredients and traditional cooking methods: a roasted lobster split and shared; a whole partridge steamed in bread; native abalone pan fried and doused in brown butter and herbs at the table. This is cooking that celebrates the perfect imperfection that can only come from cooking by touch, from resting a piece of meat or seafood that is cooked by flames or charcoal. Eleven Bridge is a celebration of the conviviality of food, where the art of great service is heralded alongside great cooking. Our front-of-house team, lead by Silvio Brentan, brings the theatre of the kitchen into the dining room: carving, tossing and serving dishes table side. Combined with Head Sommelier Yuki Hirose’s award winning wine list and one of this country’s most knowledgeable wine teams, the service at Eleven Bridge is designed to highlight that it is the sum of all the parts that make up a great restaurant. A statement on its iconic location in the heart of Sydney, almost 28 years since its original incarnation as Rockpool in 1989, Eleven Bridge remains the Rockpool Group’s flagship restaurant. Eleven Bridge is a member of the French-based Relais & Chateux, an organisation recognised for its dedication to maintaining the highest international standards for hospitality and culinary excellence.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Rockpool near Pitt Street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The decor and lights were too dark. Its nice to provided some romantic scene but could hardly read the menu as the lights were too dark. They only have candles on the table. Some of the food in their menu you need to pre-order 24hrs. Average food and expensive.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Papillon01_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    146
    72
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“lack of service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our table for 9 on a Saturday night was immediately to the left of the entrance, next to the kitchen and instead of chairs, we were provided with stools. We sat down at 7.30pm but were then promptly ignored by the staff. No one came to offer drinks, no menus were provided and no bread was brought to the table. But for one of our party complaining, we possibly would not have been served at all. When the first course came, it was 9.00pm, by which time everyone was starving. The service did not improve at all throughout the evening. More complaints, followed by less than enthusiastic staff coming round to see what we wanted. By this time sitting on stools did nothing for our backs. The overall impression that night was that of being in Faulty Towers. Whilst the food, when it came, was fine, the overall experience will ensure that this group of people will not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CommentatorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet, classy and delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent the weekend in Sydney and Rockpool has always been on my list of want to try places.
We were able to get a late reservation the same day which surprised me. Service was impeccable, decor very classy. The meal is a degustation affair with you choosing how many courses you wish to have.
The meals look tiny but I have to admit after three courses there was no possible room for dessert so had to decline that offer!
Sommelier was very informative and we enjoyed her wine selections immensely.
The only drawback was the extremely annoying man at the table next to us - but that was his fault and not Rockpool's. Seriously this man needs to be banned from quiet restaurants - I now know everything about him just because he talked so loud and non-stop!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hqsmumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Well worth considering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went to the Rockpool for my wife’s birthday and my review is as a 3 hat restaurant as you need to compare to other two and three hatted restaurants. So if price is an issue this in not the place.
Our night was lovely, the food was great, the service very efficient without being over the top. The staff were very friendly you did not get the feeling they were looking down on you like some of the other 3 hatted restaurants in Sydney. Although we were at the back looking out over Nurses walk the restaurant was not noisy. The tables are spaced well apart and we felt quiet private. There were two parties of six or eight nearby but they did not disturb us.
The food was well presented and interesting without being over the top with combinations of you would never have dreamt of. Mostly seafood on the menu but the steak fillet was very tender. Great wine list. You go for quality not huge meals.
Drawbacks, is there are no views like Quay or Aria or Café Sydney. It is much more personal than Est, Tetsuya’s, Guillaume.
It is well worth a visit if you are after one of the better Sydney restaurants with a more personal touch. I would prefer Quay but this is very hard to get into as it won the 2013 award for best restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ddsheywo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Boringly overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Its just a Neil perry thing, be it sydney or melbourne you know your going to hurt in the pocket and never know if it will be hit or miss, the best value neil perry food is on qantas

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven Bridge also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Eleven Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing