We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Nakashima

Nakashima
Ranked #1,671 of 5,891 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Seriously good food. I had no idea why aubergine existed on the planet until I visited this place. Unbelievable, best egg plant dish ever.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
787 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great service”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

It was refreshing to be seated at a restaurant with staff that really wanted to be there. You could just tell they were proud of their restaurant, and so they should be. The service is quick, the food was excellent and the atmosphere was great. I was not sure about the size of the meal I wanted, and the staff suggested I order two similar smaller meals. It is not often you get that service, and their suggestion was excellent. You really need to know how to get to this restaurant as it is hidden off Argyle Street, but was filling up quite quickly when I ate there. I have had take away from here before but this time ate in (at an outside table) and I was so glad I did. I real gem!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cute & Cosy”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A small restuarant in the back streets. Menu has lots to choose from and is priced well. Food is very tasty. Definately try the eggplant.!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lilyndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Delish japanese food!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Nakashima is a hidden gem japanese resto in Sydney! It's a busy little restaurant hidden in the laneway.

I came to Nakashima for dinner with 5 other friends.
The resto is quite small and not very appealing in terms of decoration, just a small casual Japanese restaurant.

We ordered miso soup, pork maki, sukiyaki, wafuu steak, teriyaki chicken + steamed rice.

When I went there, the restaurant was packed. We waited for 1.5 hour to get the table. But, it worth the wait. The food was tasty & delicious! Love it!

Great food, good value, I'd definitely go back.
I would recommend you to make a booking, as the resto is small and always packed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank veelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duiven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food, outside seating value for money”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Today already the second time with Nakashima, it is small not a really appealing exterior, but they have a terras and good food offering very good value for their money.

This is a hidden Gem

We were there with some colleagues, if you want to invite your customer I would recommend another restaurant to inmpress them, but if you know him well why not!

So I can recommend this for lunch (sun!), we opted for the lunchbox!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guido S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakashima also viewed

 
Penrith, Greater Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nakashima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing