We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Nakashima

Nakashima
Ranked #1,675 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
768 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was looking for a restaurant in the rocks area, and whilst walking along argyle street found this little gem. I had a take away to go back to m hotel whilst working late, and the staff were mo than accommodating. The food was fantastic, tasty and filling. Although slightly out of the way, this restaurant is one I will return to. The meals are not pricey and the size of the portions are adequate for an entree and main. I do don't have anything else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

While service can sometimes be a little slow, the quality of the food is so good it just doesn't matter. I've dined here several times and have NEVER had a bad meal... the beef sashimi is amazing.
Make sure you book! It's not a huge place, and its very popular.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kam0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good Japanese food, great prices”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at Nakashima on a midweek evening. The restaurant was quite quiet and we were served very quickly.

We had the sushi, sashimi, sukiudon and soft shell crab salad - all of which were tasty and fresh. Generous portion sizes and really reasonable prices. While it wasn't the best Japanese food I've ever had, you can't really go wrong at Nakashima.

The free happy hour drink on offer at that time of the day was another plus!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Germione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked Japanese food”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We eat here regularly and it is nothing short of excellent!! The food reminds me of being back in Japan. The pork maki especially is outstanding
Definitely recommend this restaurant!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Childish_Gambino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food ok, very slow service”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I ate here with my partner recently on a Friday evening. After reading such great reviews I was really looking forward to the experience - however I came away quite disappointed. To start we had Goyza which were quite oily, the sushi was nice but not fantastic. Our mains took forever to arrive and were average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakashima also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nakashima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing