We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem”

La Renaissance Patisserie (The Rocks)
Ranked #6 of 425 Quick Bites in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Welcome to La Renaissance! We are one of Sydney's oldest family-owned French patisseries, and the first in the Southern Hemisphere to be awarded the prestigious Relais Desserts status with our head chef and co-owner Jean Michel Raynaud. Each morning we serving fresh buttery pastries, hot coffee & tea, juice, savouries and cakes every day. A great place to recharge and relax if you're new to Sydney and exploring Circular Quay and The Rocks, or a favourite for locals. Our best-selling items include almond croissants and the Monet, a white chocolate mousse cake with lychee jelly, raspberries and coconut base. Cult favourite, the ham and cheese croissant, sells out daily as well, with a shredded ham & cheese bechamel inside and on top of the croissant. Baked until crisp but still a little soft inside... we say yes please!
Reviewed October 28, 2018

This French Cafe is almost hidden away in the Rocks. The rear courtyard has a wonderful out of the way feel. The coffee is very good and the lunch time sandwiches are awesome. Great cakes too.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank 708henryv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 558 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2018

I stayed for a week on the rocks and everyday would work to this place to get breakfast or lunch. Its super close to the harbour, and its lovelly to but something to take away and eat it looking at the harbour and the Opera House. Everything i tried was amazing! Great quiches, and croassant. The rolled pastry with chocolate and pistachio is a must try too. Go check this place out!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mariaclarabravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

Tried the coffee here after one of our friends recommended it and unfortunately it was a bit of a disappointment, much better coffees elsewhere in the CBD. The sandwiches were alright and the cakes looked yummy though we didn’t try them.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank orvds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Coffee good, service friendly and efficient and a convenient location. As the title says the almond croissants were good enough to entice multiple return visits. Tried a ham and cheese croissant with bechamel sauce which was not quite to the same standard. A very appetising array of pastries, pies and quiches awaits the next visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank Merrvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Great coffee, tea and pastries. This made up for very wet day in Sydney. I can't wait to go again and try some more of the food.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rdoggett416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Renaissance Patisserie (The Rocks) also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to La Renaissance Patisserie (The Rocks)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing