We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sydney
Post
Inbox
Search

“Just fantastic”
Review of Fish At The Rocks

Fish At The Rocks
Ranked #74 of 7,779 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Australian seafood restaurant located in one of the rocks historic buildings, where those in the know go!Open for lunch 12noon Monday- FridayDinner from 6pm 7 daysBlackboards with daily specials
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such fresh fish, perfectly cooked, with spectacular service. Also attentive to gf needs. Could offer gf bread though. Our entrees and mains were both perfectly cooked — my husband’s calimari battered in tapioca flour was the best I’ve ever had. I had seared scallops on tiny pillows of rice cake flavored with ginger and sweet chili sauce— extraordinary! He had spaghettini with shellfish that was perfect, and my swordfish was exceptional. We shared dessert, gf chocolate cake of course and delectable. Service: ours was just right, but the woman eating alone next to us received service over and above. She accidentally knocked over her full wine glass sending shards and wine everywhere. The two servers made sure she was ok first, then cleaned up thoroughly and replaced her glass of wine, all seamlessly. She was a terrific Canadian from Vancouver here for SydFest, lovely to talk with and grateful for the delicious fish and kind service. We left very impressed!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Nanioften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

While this place is very nice and the food was excellent and reasonably priced, it’s probably not exactly what you’d expect from a No 1 rated seafood restaurant in Sydney. Still very good though.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank TippOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Out the way and hard to find. But the mixed fish platter is not to be missed.
Amazing sea food. Can’t recommend high enough

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 327AlanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed this restaurant enough to find it again at the end of our month’s stay in Australia. A lite and delicious menu in a fresh and quiet setting. Within walking distance from the Sydney wharf. The wine of choice from the Pooley winery was so delicious, we ventured over to the winery (Richmond, Australia) later in the month to savour more.

Staff was wonderful, wish I could say quietly that the waiter that slips out for a smoke (both visits) comes back with a tad overbearing scent of tobacco. That aside, well worth a visit.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

We visited this restaurant 8 years ago when it was excellent. Sadly the service and food did not live up to our expectations. They advertise an early bird menu but seemed put out when we asked to see it. The ravioli starter was average at best and the Barramundi fish and chips were awful, soggy batter and the fish was soggy too. Neither of us could eat it, we were offered a dessert as compensation but declined it.
We will not be returning despite being in Sydney for a while
,

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cjjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish At The Rocks also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fish At The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing