We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You want great seafood- come here”
Review of Fish At The Rocks

Fish At The Rocks
Ranked #18 of 5,843 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern Australian seafood restaurant located in one of the rocks historic buildings, where those in the know go!Open for lunch 12noon Monday- FridayDinner from 6pm 7 daysBlackboards with daily specials
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You want great seafood- come here”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

You pay for quality, and freshness.
I could not help myself.
Entrees, 2.
A dozen Sydney rock oysters, but then scallops carpaccio also.
And to finish, Ocean trout.
And a great wine
Excellent

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    285
    84
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for a party”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We held a birthday party for 34 people in the upstairs room. Very comfortable. The atmosphere was very homely with the fireplace. Service was excellent and the food was sublime. We couldn't have asked for more, all at a price that was as good as any in the city.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Less than Stellar”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Went here as it was highly recommended. Unfortunately, we must have hit an off night. Salmon was over-cooked, service was spotty, and dinner was not what I expected. Table next to us had same experience. Dessert was good, however.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute decision”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I had heard this was a good restaurant to eat at. I tried to book a table over Easter weekend. I was initially told there was no room. Never one to be put off, I pleaded a little and Garth, the manager, fitted me in. I certainly wasn't disappointed.

The restaurant has that personal bistro feel, with a charming ambiance. The staff (our waitress was a lady called Mary from Ireland) was friendly and attentive. A lovely setting all in all, and a BYO too!

I was in a party of 4. 3 had starters, the scallop carpaccio and I had the Oysters. I liked both the natural and the oysters Rockefeller, so was offered a mix. All starters were excellent, however it was felt the scallops could have been more. The mains were all different. I had the seafood spaghettini which was superb. One person had the snapper fillet, whilst another had the special which was a whole snapper grilled. The certainly looked fabulous. The 4 person had salmon.

We had 2 deserts and were the last to leave. Thank you Garth for a lovely evening. I will certainly come back. The price was also very reasonable and we were charged a small corkage charge for our BYO.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy restaurant with good food and friendly service”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late for our booking (flight delay) but the staff had saved our table. The service was prompt and friendly. We ordered from the specials board, delicious mussels in a cream, wine and basil sauce, and grilled fish. The sauce on the mussels was so good I was tempted to lick my plate! An excellent bottle of wine rounded the meal off. It is also BYO, but they have a good wine list. I would definitely go to this restaurant again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilli68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish At The Rocks also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fish At The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing