We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great seafood restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish At The Rocks

Fish At The Rocks
Ranked #15 of 5,393 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern Australian seafood restaurant located in one of the rocks historic buildings, where those in the know go!Open for lunch 12noon Monday- FridayDinner from 6pm 7 daysBlackboards with daily specials
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great seafood restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

this little place is a gem in the best area in Sydney, the old the Rocks!
it was 5 of us, all foodies and hospo workers, and we loved it since the first step we walked in!
the atmosphere is very intimate, more for couples than big groups of friends, and we nearly felt like we were ruining the dinner to the other customers, but the 2 waiters were totally fine and none complained!
we tried pretty much each entre, oysters included, and then we had the famous baked and stuffed barramundi, delicious, a couple of special and the seafood pie to share! everything was very tasty and fresh, the service was impeccable and the prices are so cheap, considering the location and being a seafood place!
we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eatAbility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    219
    69
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“'Great introduction'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visiting Sydney for a show and taken to Fish at The Rocks, we strolled up to Kent Street at my brother's suggestion, hoping a table would be available and happy to find we could be accommodated. Prompt and attentive waiter service ensued: this small classy restaurant has hand-picked staff! First treated to tiny pastries followed by a lovely seafood platter selected by the owner, we found that the wine list allowed for varying palettes as well as the menu's delicate and piquant flavours. Our eating experience was enhanced by the intimate atmosphere despite having many tables in a small space. Sophisticated and recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua-kona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great dinner and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Made reservations for dinner before the opera. We had to pickup our tickets at will call and needed a little extra time to do so. The management opened up fifteen minutes early so we would not feel rushed. We had the fixed menu ($45.00 per person). Plenty of fabulous food.
This was a great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank colleen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best seafood I have had in a long time. It's only a small restaurant but the food is of great quality and delicious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reb1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great intimate dinner in a tourist area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We weren't too sure about this place when our hotel in The Rocks recommended it because it's in a rather touristy neighborhood, but it was a lovely surprise. The food was great quality and cooked perfectly, and service was pretty good (only complaint was that water glasses were not refilled).

It's a small place, so you may want to get a reservation if you're going at a peak time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aw511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish At The Rocks also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fish At The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing