We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sangria, rush you a bit though.”
Review of Encasa Restaurant

Encasa Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 5,944 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: Pizza, Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome sangria, rush you a bit though.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Firstly. The sangria here is AMAZING! My partner and I polish about 3 jugs in 2 hours. I know there's a general 2 hour booking rule, but these guys make it very obvious when you book which is a bit awkward but hey points for honesty. The patatas bravas are amazing and there's a great selection of pizza and pasta as well as tapas. I highly recommend the food if you can get past the service flaws :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    167
    43
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tapas treats”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Encasa has the authentic feel of a Spanish restaurant. The selection of tapas is fantastic and they are vey tasty. Washed down with the house Sangria you settle in and don't want to leave. If you go there is a dish that you must try and that is their Pernod Prawns yum !!

Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This restaurant is great to eat at stagff afriendly and the meals are quite nice. It is always very busy so I wou ld suggest making a booking

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 792Carol_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pre-theatre dinner”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Booked a pre-theatre [Capitol Theatre] dinner here. Staff were efficeint & freindly. We were able to pre-order a paella upon booking [normally takes 45 mins after order] & it was ready 15 mins after we arrived, giving us plenty of time to enjoy our meal. Churros was good but serving little small. Vibrant & a little noisy [but in a good way] restaurant. Would cerainly eat here again

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK tapas...”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Every time I've been to this place it seems to be busy and to be honest the food isn't bad. That said, the tapas menu is just kind of your run of the mill tapas menu and is perhaps a little unimaginative. While items like the meatballs, garlic prawns and mushrooms are your classic kind of comfort food, I find them often a little too oily but OK none the less.
This place seems to also pride itself on its pizza which I've had and it's good, but I wonder why it's there... It's all a bit confusing.
Encasa is OK, but being on the fringe of the 'Spanish Quarter', a short walk North West will offer an abundance of competitors who you may find a little more satisfactory.
Worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterDM_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Encasa Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Encasa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing