We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chinta Ria Temple of Love - CLOSED

Chinta Ria Temple of Love
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Office Christmas party venue - 25 people were very well catered for including vegetarians and other special dietary requirements. Services was very good and we were provided with a dedicated section for our group. Overall a great venue that everyone enjoyed and would be happy to return to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    105
    31
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
361 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Having dined at this restaurant several times, but not for a few years, I was pleased to return today for lunch with five friends. Located at the northern end of Darling Harbour, next to Pyrmont Bridge, the restaurant still possesses its charm and eclectic appearance, with the mandatory incense hitting you upon entry. (There is also a lovely outside eating area). Service was attentive and speedy although we had a mid-day reservation and not many other diners at that time. We ate Roti, Hokkien Noodles with Roast Duck, Red Temple Chicken, Assam Fish, Spicy Squid, Ayam Ria (another chicken dish) and Nasi Goreng. All very good, however the Nasi Goreng was not truly authentic as there was no fried egg on top. Having that minor discrepancy was no problem, as we consumed just about everything. With several wines, and a few beers, the bill totalled $285 and was a most enjoyable way to spend a few hours. If you need to visit the "washroom" you may be entertained by reading the many awards won by Chinta Ria. They fill a wall on the right side upon entering the area.(is that a statement of their importance?)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“great meal, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Enjoyed our visit. Attentive staff, good food, and very reasonably priced compared to some of the other places in te area. Def worth a visit. Good view of fireworks a bonus!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Real Buzz to this Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

The food here is very very good-it's fresh and no corners cut. can't remember a time when it hasn't been packed. No reservations taken.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crussher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to this restaurant for years. The food is delicious, the service is quick and the staff are friendly. I love the chicken ayam blues!

Helpful?
Thank Meerkat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinta Ria Temple of Love also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing