We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love The Temple of Love.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chinta Ria Temple of Love - CLOSED

Chinta Ria Temple of Love
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love The Temple of Love.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Sydney - somewhere that I always take visiting guests . A giant Buddha greats you at the front door and from there on the experience involves excellent, knowing service , and an interesting range of Malaysian/Asian fare. This is accompanied by a background of great music and the opera of a large open kitchen. Check reservation policy before setting out. Located at the Darling Harbor precinct - right at a mono rail station.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    105
    31
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Malaysian-cuisine influenced restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I came here with my girlfriend last year and we had a great time - the food menu is very varied and there's a lot of selection, but everything looks so wonderful it's hard to decide what to get! We had a grilled fish and a type of chicken curry and some char kway teow and everything was great, it's a really buzzing location with wonderful views if you're there on a weekend night as they have fireworks at Darling Harbour! They have a sister restaurant in the Westfield at Pitt st and that's also worth a visit as well!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quick bite with work colleagues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A great little restaurant with yummy food. Ideal after a long day at a conference in Darling Harbour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Youngcouple7879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Always a great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I've dined a few times at Chinta Ria and always enjoyed it. This time we went for a business dinner with 10 people, and although Chinta Ria don't usually take bookings, they will do it for a group of that size, which we appreciated (tip for smaller parties - go to the restaurant and if it is busy, they usually take your number and give you a call when a table is ready - you can go to a bar downstairs for a drink or two and you rarely wait long).

The food there is really good. I recommend Ayam Blues and the Sambal Spinach but virtually everything is enjoyable. The order of the dishes arriving can be a bit sporadic, but we had a big hungry group so everything got wolfed down pretty quickly.

The waiters are not overly talkative but they are efficient. We had one troublesome guest who was a bit embarrassing but the waiter took it in her stride. He asked for something that was not on the menu and when he persisted she said (with a smile) "you want fine dining, go fine dining". Put him in his place nicely and we all had a laugh.

If you are going with smaller parties I recommend asking for a table outside, even is you have to wait a little longer, as it is a beautiful vista. For the best night have a few drinks at Helm Bar near the Aquarium and then head up to Chinta Ria. If you don't enjoy the Temple of Love, you're a hard judge.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and service, consistently”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We eat here at least twice when we come to Sydney for a few days. Well located in Darling Harbour, great atmosphere and friendly staff. There's often a queue because it's popular, but that allows time for a drink at 'Coast' next door; they call you when your table is ready. I always love the Laksa, but there's plenty of choice of Malaysian hawker dishes. We watched fireworks over Darling Harbour from our table during this visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barium99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinta Ria Temple of Love also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing