We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolfie's Grill

Wolfie's Grill
Reserve with
Wolfie's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #283 of 5,815 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $11 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Wolfies invites you to dine on a wide array of Australia's famous prime grain fed beef and local seafood prepared in our Chargrill kitchen. Our Executive Chef's philosophy is quite simply to produce the most premium quality beef and to lightly season and char grill it to the customers specification whilst allowing true flavour and texture to be appreciated.A favourite with tourists, Wolfies has a vibrant yet relaxed atmosphere. Great food, superb wine and friendly staff combined with views over the iconic Sydney Harbour and Opera House, makes for a perfect experience for anyone at any time of year
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited here on a Saturday evening mainly due to being a tourist and wanting a nice view of the Sydney Opera House. Seated outside and it was actually freezing - asked for a heater to be placed close to me but they advised they couldn't. Really enjoyed the food - seafood tasting plate and prawns for entrée, barramundi and pizza for mains but boy it is RIDICULOUSLY OVERPRICED - $186 for 2 people with no desserts and 2 drinks each. The fact that they've got such a good view and the food is awesome is so disappointing as the service is so lack lustre and it's got such a "push them out quick" vibe it's awful and the view and food are quickly forgotten about. Won't be back in a hurry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicolaMaycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    202
    112
    58
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A terrible disappointment! Worst service in a very long time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We attended Sydney's Vivid light show and as we passed by my girlfriend was attracted to this restaurants as they offered Gluten free pizza options.

The front service desk was unorganized and not overly attentive, 3 service and not a smile from anyone.
We were showed to a table which was cold (mide of winter with no heating options) and in the corner. We asked the moved as we were not happy with our seating position and could see many more available seats. We were relocated to warmer seating but told that there would be a long wait for service as their "best" waiter had a big table in his area and would have to attend them first. We agreed to stay as we didn't want to move back to the previous area.

When we got service which wasn't too long of a wait we proceeded to ask questions about the menu and then raised our waiter awareness to my partners many food allergies.

We ordered our food and my partner or entree ordered broccoli but questioned the waiter whether it would be safe based on her allergies and he said he would check with the kitchen... When it was delivered to our table by another waiter my girlfriend asked the new waiter why it was just plain broccoli he said because that what you ordered and then left the table so quickly that we couldn't even talk to him... This was not what we ordered so we got the attention of the "best" waiter and questioned him. My partner said my broccoli was delivered plain, he said "yes"... Perhaps some explanation should have been given, we eventually sorted this out and broccoli as per the menu was brought back and it was delicious. This was the first of many hard conversations that we had with the waiter.

The mains which were the pizza took over 45 mins to get to our table and the restaurant was almost closed.

What should have been a pleasant evening of entertainment and delicious dining was turned into a negative story which will be told over and over again.

AVOID this at all costs, save yourself time, money and breath!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesUster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisD101, Manager at Wolfie's Grill, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback written on the 24th June 2013
On Behalf of the Restaurant team, and Management of Waterfront, I am very sorry for the experience you had at Wolfies.
I do appreciate the fact that you have taken time, effort and energy into putting these points across.
As a business we strive to offer a high level of food and service and I am disappointed to hear that you did not receive this.
I have forwarded your comments to the restaurant management team & General Manager to look into and take actions to prevent the experience you had happening again.
If you would like to discuss the matter further please feel free to contact me on 1300 115 116.
Yours Sincerely

Michelle Christensen
Restaurant Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terribly terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Terrible food. I got better steak at Half the price in Wagga Wagga. Very very disappointing. Salty steak terrible food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyHuangSteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Planned a great night out with friends staying in the city for the Sat of the long weekend to coincide with Vivid. Thought we would treat ourselves to a lovely dinner and booked three weeks ahead requesting a table near the promenade. First disappointment was the table..as far away from the requested spot as you could get. located right infront of main entrance to inside and a service station so very noisy.Second disappointment was waiting ages to have our order taken. 3rd was the taking away of our entrees before our drinks even made it to the table. Then there was the food... two hungry men ordered pasta with crab meat and prawns. $36 entitled them to three prawns and a handful of pasta. The crab must have been in puree form.. invisible. The ladies had Snapper, one portion fair sized the other about two thirds the size, Now at $44 I would have thought this would be unacceptable. Admittedly it was a busy night...but who is twisting their arm to take more bookings than they can cope with?Total greed and I feel totally ripped off. We also had to pay $5 each surcharge for this dining experience! On top of that the guys were still ravenous. Shame shame!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJ236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisD101, Manager at Wolfie's Grill, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback written on the 10th June.
On Behalf of the Restaurant team, and Management of Waterfront, I am very sorry for the experience you had at our venue.
I do appreciate the fact that you have taken time, effort and energy into putting these points across.
As a business we strive to offer the best quality food and service and am disappointed to hear that you did not receive this.
I am sorry that we could not accommodate your initial request, however during Vivid many of our reservations requested tables close to the harbour, therefore we were unable to accommodate all of these requests.
Rest assured that your views and comments are extremely important to us and there will be a full investigation into what happened on the evening in regards to the food & service. I have passed your comments on to our Restaurant Management and General Manager.
If you would like to discuss the matter further please feel free to contact me on 1300 115 116.
Yours Sincerely

Michelle Christensen
Restaurant Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
363 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Crowded, average food but with a great view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The service was a little slow at first but pleasant enough. The setting is beautiful with a view out to the harbour. The food was alright if you were hungry but otherwise average and lacked any real taste. The lunch time meal (breads, mains and water) came to about $200 - we should have gone for pizza!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfie's Grill also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Wolfie's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing