We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay Restaurant

Quay Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 5,815 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International, Australian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

A wonderful experience. Food was incredible and the service was perfect! We had the tasting menu with classic wine and it was all beautiful. The service was perfectly timed and the view was an added bonus to a fantastic meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    286
    191
    86
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food but not much of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

While the food was delicious the portions are small given the prices. Some waitstaff are warm and friendly while others appear irritated, scripted and just getting through the meal for a tip.
There are plenty of fine dining establishments in Sydney which offer genuinely friendly service as well as amazing food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna98920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The Snow Egg was worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband has been dying to have a Snow Egg ever since he saw it on Masterchef Australia. In July we visited Sydney and was staying in the Rocks. We thought it was a good ooportunity to go. We were unable to get a booking in the evening, as they are booked out for about 8 months ahead, but they do provide a lunch sitting Monday - Friday. I sent off an email with about 8 weeks notice and received a confirmation and a very pleasant phone call from office staff to acquire credit card details. A few weeks later I had another phone call, and they informed me that due to works on the Overseas Passenger Terminal they were unable to cover our booking. I was so disappointed as we were only there from Friday to Sunday. They explained that due to these unforeseen circumstances, they were offering a lunch sitting for the Saturday and Sunday. Yippee!! We reconfirmed for Saturday at 1pm. We arrived about 15 minutes prior to booking and were shown to our table, right next to the waters edge, with a magnificent view of the harbour. The staff were all very pleasant, greeting us with smiles and nods as we made our way to the table. Our wait staff were all courteous and friendly, professional and knowledgable. One of the girls (Michelle I think?) was very nervous, it was her first day! Scott and Atty (??) served us to perfection, and a special thank you to Scott for the many extra slices of bread he got for me (it was to die for).
We decided on a tasting menu (8 courses) and classic wine accompaniment. We also started with a cocktail called a Quay Butterfly, which was very refeshing. The food was magnificent, delivered in a timely fashion, without feeling rushed or being forgotten. The wines and dishes were explained in detail, and any other questions we had, answered without exception. We spent the next 4 hours indulging in the ambiance, food, wine, a near by table, wait staff & ourselves. It was an indulgence that it is nice to have every now and then. So very nice, and happy to have ticked it off my bucket list. Oh and my husband loved the Snow Egg!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KazLoudspeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a view! The food was good too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked months in advance. Our table felt as though it was suspended midway between the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. The food was excellent, a tasting menu with matched wines. The staff were helpful and attentive. The presentation of the food was superb and other than one course being a little bland, very tasty. Of course, at the price this is what one would expect - definitely a special occasion venue. It would have been disappointing if a cruise ship had been moored alongside (the restaurant is in the passenger terminal building)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walkergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Having eaten here many times over the years we decided to hold my husbands 50th birthday at Quay. We chose their private room in the upper tower and had 28 of our closest friends and family. As always the food was outstanding, such creativity and innovation and none of this diminished with a large group. The service we had was first class, both in the planning and on the day/night. The venue location/views must surely be the best in Australia, perhaps the world. Thank you Quay for giving us such wonderful memories, we will be back very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Quay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing